Giving the Icy Finger to Old Man Winter

Posted: December 7, 2010 in Motivation, Run, Training
  • Long run (click to see stats & route)
  • 10.2k (58:13)
  • Avg. Heart Rate = 148 bpm
  • Max. Heart Rate = 160 bpm
  • Avg. Pace = 5:48 /km
  • Calories = 1287

First sub-zero run of the year (-2 degrees).  Brrr!

Nice, easy run.  God bless Recovery Week!

It’s amazing to me that the colder, windier, wetter, more treacherous it is outside, the better my overall performance seems to be time-wise.  I seem to do well and can push myself harder when I’m miserable.  Go figure?  Maybe it’s just good ‘ol hearty Canadian conditioning, maybe it’s will power, or maybe it’s just the rush to get back home again and warm up before my nipples freeze to my undershirt, whatever.  And coupled with the fact that I am also currently sans weed, you have the makings for one hell of a good, miserable  run tonight.

Listened to the original War of the Worldsradio broadcast (1938) by Orson Welles and the Mercury Theater.  An excellent soundtrack for a surreal evening of winter training.

Comments
  1. You know what… I’m finding my times to be better too. Graned, it is just 39 (feels like 32) here in Florida, but that is COLD for this part of the country.

Leave a Reply

