The Piss & Vinegar Method

Posted: December 16, 2010 in Motivation, Training
Tags:
  • Tempo Run (click to see stats)
  • 8.64k (44:42)
  • Avg. Heart Rate = 159 bpm
  • Max. Heart Rate = 174 bpm
  • Avg. Pace = 5:10 /km
  • Max. Pace = 4:19 /km
  • Calories = 876
  • Temp = -2 º

Most people I talk to seem to enjoy running.  They talk about the tranquility they find running under the stars or of the simple pleasures found in an early morning trail run.  Some have even mentioned to me that they find running therapeutic, or an enjoyable means of burning off unwanted stress from the day.  Well, that’s just groovy.  Me?  I run angry.  Particularly now that I’m running sober.  In fact, I would totally go so far as to say that I may suffer from an acute case of Runners Rage.  I will call this then, the “Piss & Vinegar Method of training.

I have no idea why, as I used to find some degree of satisfaction in the quiet solitude of my long runs…while I was high.  Now I am running with a certain edge.  So besides the pre-workout bong ritual, what changed exactly?  I don’t have much anxiety or stress in my life at the moment that needs any special venting, yet during last nights run I felt like an angry bull stampeding through the streets as opposed to simply “running graceful with a tall, proud posture”, as recommended in an article in this months Runners magazine.  Maybe it was the music I chose to listen to.  I’m not really a heavy metal or loud aggressive music kind of guy and I lean more towards a mellower backdrop when I run instead, and sometimes I will even listen to audio books or old radio broadcasts.  But tonight I listened to some faster paced edgier tunes so maybe that had something to do with it.  But regardless, if I can complete over 8.5k under 45 minutes while maintaining a steady pace of 5:10 /km, well, let’s hear it for anger then.  That’s right, “three cheers for Anger Management!” Put that in your corn cob pipe and smoke it.

So with that in mind, I am going to begin recording the “Song of the Day” (SOTD) from these runs, which tonight, just happened to be ‘Down On the Street’ by the Stooges.

Comments
  1. I had an angry run tonight as well.

    I ran 3.3 miles this morning. When my 30 minute limit was up on my machine, I went to get a kleenex and got dizzy. Time to head home.

    Then I decided tonight to do a spin class and then try those last 1.7 miles that I didn’t finish this morning… on the dreadmill. Talk about B-O-R-I-N-G!

    I counted down every .1 miles.

Leave a Reply

