The Hills Have Tears

Posted: December 19, 2010 in Lifestyle, Run, Training
  • Long Run (click to see stats)
  • 16.36k (1:35:37)
  • Avg. Heart Rate = 150 bpm
  • Max. Heart Rate = 169 bpm
  • Avg. Pace = 5:50 /km
  • Max. Pace = 4:56 /km
  • Calories = 1668
  • Temp = -2º(-11º w/ windchill)
  • SOTD: ‘Brokedown on the Brazzos’ by Gov’t Mule

My first official long run training session for Around the Bay in March.  I am limited, however, to the amount of hills I can find in the city as the odd highway overpass doesn’t really count.  Therefore I have modified my schedule slightly to position my long run training days on Saturdays so that I can drive out of the city and into the country in search of those elusive long, hilly stretches of quiet country road.  Afterwards, I enjoyed a nice steaming bowl of fresh venison curry from my pals at the local El Gastronomo Vagabundo caterer van on the way back.  Totally yummo and well deserved by that point.

A friend asked me last week what it was like to train for a long distance triathlon.  I was stymied; I’ve never been asked that kind of question before and I wasn’t sure how to respond exactly.  I tried to reason that it was much like anything else you’re passionate about, in that it eventually becomes part of your normal everyday routine and therefore you just stop stressing about it and do it.  It’s like doing the laundry or eating your brussel sprouts; you don’t like it but you do it anyway.  But she didn’t seem too happy with this as answer.  Well, I got a chance to think about it today while out on my run and here is how I’d try to explain it in retrospect:  training for an Ironman competition is like having a long, dragged out conversation with a thousand different voices in your head; each giving you a reason to stop, quit, slow down, avoid the next hill, take up bocce, whatever.  And, somehow, somewhere, in all this mental diatribe you try and find that one single voice that says: “keep going, you got this”. Then you just hang onto that conversation for as long as possible.  That’s really the best I can describe it.

Comments
  1. […] Hills. More and more hills…hills until I puked – literally.  ‘Hills’ was the magic word this year when it came to running.  It was meant to be last year too, but […]

Leave a Reply

