Taking Care of Christmas

Posted: December 25, 2010 in Lifestyle, Run, Training
Tags:
  • Long Run (click to see stats)
  • 18.31k (1:49:44)
  • Avg. Heart Rate = 148 bpm
  • Max. Heart Rate = 167 bpm
  • Avg. Pace = 5:59 /km
  • Max. Pace = 4:56 /km
  • Calories = 1871
  • Temp = -4º(-10º w/ wind chill)
  • SOTD: ‘Aliens (Christmas 1988)’ by the Rheostatics.

How you can tell that Santa has visited a triathlete's home

It was a cold, desolate run this Christmas morning, let me tell you.  Cold enough that the bottle of water I had left in the front seat of the Jeep had frozen solid by the time I returned.  Breakfast this morning at 7:00am consisted of a Vanilla Bean flavored GU pack and a slice of rye toast with peanut butter.  Ho!  Ho!  Ho!

I tackled some more hills along Cherry Ave. out in Vineland and braved the flying ice in the air coming down Bethesda Rd.  I had lots of sappy, tearful moments out in the middle of nowhere while listening to old wintery Canadian anthems of my youth by the Skydiggers, Blue Rodeo and The Rheostatics; so an otherwise uneventful day of training I guess.  Despite the minor ache in my left calf, I was reminded of how thankful I am to be doing exactly what I’m doing.  Odd, I know, to feel ‘thankful’ 14k into a cold hilly run so early on Christmas morning, but I am.  I am thankful because only three short years ago I would not have even considered doing something crazy like this much less actually doing it; and for fun no less!  And now it’s something that not only I can and do accomplish regularly, but also something that I look forward to as well. Then again, there is also the chance that I was just having a delirious reaction to my having overdosed on Christmas cookies the night before.

Either way, Merry Christmas all!

Leave a Reply

