The Bleu Turtle

Posted: January 1, 2011 in Lifestyle, Nutrition
Tags: ,

The plan this morning was to begin 2011 with a nice group run along the Niagara Parkway with my tri buddies followed by a hot breakfast, hot coffee, and good company; except, I woke to the sound of rain absolutely pummeling the patio top outside my living room window (I pass out on the couch a lot you see)…so I opted out.  Boo.

Today’s forecast calls for…

I hate breaking my training plans; even more so when they are with other people but, truthfully, I am only recovering from a minor chest cold over the holidays and the thought of running a half marathon in the cold rain was a hard one to commit to.  With my luck, I’d end up with extreme respiratory pneumonia and unable to run again until February, so I’m going to be smart and declare a Rain Day – triathlon’s equivalent to a ‘Mulligan’ (golf).  And I’m okay with that. I took the opportunity instead to visit one of my favorite breakfast haunts, The Bleu Turtle Breakfast Bistro.  The Bleu Turtle is focused on being innovative with food and sharing Niagara’s amazing array of fresh and local produce, whenever possible, with locals and tourists.  Owner/proprietor, Chef Robby, bakes bread daily and prepares his own spreads, mayonnaise, ice cream, soups, pancake mix and desserts. Meats and vegetables are roasted on-site.  In short, this bistro completely kicks ass.

 

I typically use The Bleu Turtle as a “reward” following a particularly long or hard workout, be it run, bike, or swim, as nothing fills me up and satisfies me better than a healthy, gourmet breakfast spread before attempting to resume something of a productive day.  Although you really can’t go wrong with any of the menu options at the Blue Turtle, my particular favorite is the Eggs Benedict, or the shaved beef w/ mushrooms and brie if it’s getting on lunchtime.  Today, I delighted in the smoked salmon hash w/ poached eggs and toast and watched the rain fall outside while I warmed myself instead over coffee and the smell of freshly baking bread.

I’ll be the tough triathlete guy again tomorrow, but as for today: “Happy New Year!”

Comments
  1. Happy New Year!
    I got your emails, but I just got back in town, so I’m playing catch up.

    Also, thinking about my New Year’s goals long and hard.

    I think you made the right decision staying in.

    And my final thought. Of course you pass out on the couch. Just don’t knock over the bong.

  2. Are you kidding? I switched my bong to an old plastic aero bottle months ago to prevent such late-night stoner breakages.

Leave a Reply

