Going Long in 2011

Posted: January 2, 2011 in Races, Training
Tags:
  • Long Run(click to see stats)
  • 21.5k (2:05:38)
  • Avg. Heart Rate = 150 bpm
  • Max. Heart Rate = 164 bpm
  • Avg. Pace = 5:50 /km
  • Max. Pace = 4:08 /km
  • Calories = 2183
  • Temp = -4º(-8º w/ wind chill)
  • SOTD: ‘Money, Love & Change’ (05/22/02) by the Trey Anastasio Band.

I had lots of time to think on my long, cold run this morning.  Today was my 10th half marathon distance run (not to mention my first “non-green” one of the year, so to speak) and I had lots of time to reflect on that as I tackled the steep Niagara Escarpment.  First, let me say that I feel so very fortunate to have the friends and support network that I do (just in case I don’t say that enough already).  I realize that the deeper and deeper I get into this Ironman training business, it seems to become more and more about me, when in actuality, it is more about this incredible team of people I have all working on my behalf to get me to the starting line in the first place.  When I really think about it, I’m kind of getting off easy in that all I ever have to worry about is simply getting out there and, you know, getting it done…the ‘fun stuff’.

With that thought in mind, I also started mentally planning out my potential race calendar and goals for the 2011 year.  Everybody needs something to shoot for, and here are mine:

Grimsby Half MarathonFebruary 28th, 2011

I’m already in preparation mode for Around the Bay the next month anyway, so this will be a good training event.  I had originally planned to run it last year as well, but I was sent to the Philippines on business last minute where I had the opportunity to run the Wellness Half Marathon in Bonifacio City, Manila in the 94-degree heat and 74% humidity instead (I now know what the bowels of Hell feel and smell like).  Ideally, I would be happy to complete a sub two hour half marathon time here, but not at the expense of jeopardizing my 30k race goal next month so I plan on playing it cool come race day.

Around the Bay (30k) – March 27th, 2011

The time to beat this year is 2 hours, 56 minutes even.  This is my first A-race of the season and my goal time will be to finish it around the 2 hour, 45 minute mark, but any improvement over last years time will be satisfactory.  This is the event intended to force me to focus on my run training throughout the winter, drop weight, and to build my base endurance levels anticipating the switch in focus to cycling shortly afterwards.

Woodstock Olympic Triathlon – June 11th, 2011

The time to beat this year is 2:07:04.  Woodstock is a shorter distance Olympic race (750k swim, 30k ride, 7.5k run) and it proved to be the perfect warm up race last year.  The swim was in a warm, small manmade inland lake, the bike course along rolling rural routes and the run through a secluded nature reserve along a manicured trail.  Overall it was a great day and I look forward to running it again this year where, hopefully, the weather will be marginally better than it was this year (wet, windy, and cold).

Welland 70.3 – June 26th, 2011

My second A-race of the year.  I have raced the Welland course twice before, but only the Sprint distance, so I know the area to be fast and flat and I don’t suspect that the Half Iron course will be any different.  I chose this event for the opportunity to race with my coach, as well as the added bonus of having many of my teammates volunteering at the aid stations along the race course to provide that little extra encouragement.  Plus, my mom will be able to watch her chubby baby from the comforts of her lawn chair not to far from home.  How awesome is that?  I am not setting a goal time for this race per se, as Cancun is my premier race in two months, but I would be very happy with another sub six hour finish at this particular event.

Gravenhurst Olympic Triathlon – July 16th, 2011

There’s not a lot happening between my two A-races in the months of July and August so I will need something to focus on besides training, so I am hoping to compete in the Gravenhurst Olympic Triathlon (1.5k swim, 40k bike, 10k run) in the heart of Ontario cottage country to commemorate my 39th birthday weekend.  It seems like a fitting thing to do.  I’m not entirely sure yet about committing as Gravenhurst is approximately a 3 hour drive from my home, but the opportunity to jump off the R.M.S. Segwan, a historic Muskoka Steamship circa 1887 to begin the race is mighty tempting indeed.  I mean, really, I get to jump off a steamship?  Cool!

Cancun 70.3 – September 18th, 2011

This is it, my Big Kahuna; my first stab at International 70.3 racing.  I’ve signed up for it; I’ve paid for it; and come Hell or high water I’m going to do it or die trying.   My goal time for this event is 5 hours, 30 minutes.  I want to be out of the water in less than 30 minutes, off the bike in another 2.5 hours, and finished my run another mere two hours later.  I know that that’s only 5 hours total, but give or take my transition times and the inevitable heat fatigue I will be dealing with, I think 5 and a half hours is a good goal.  The course brags a crystal clear water swim over coral reefs (and you know what that means…fishies!), a scenic coastal bike route through the heart of Mayan territory, and then finish off with what is being billed as the “Most Scenic Half Marathon in the World”. Fuck yeah.  Strangely enough, I am also looking forward to doing a long, slow yoga session on the beach at sunset afterwards.  Looking now at the big picture, this trip will be my first trial run for next year’s International trip to compete in Ironman Wales, and rest assured, I will be taking many notes for improvement and efficiency.  I want to have an airplane> hotel room transition time of less than 20 minutes.

Niagara Falls Half Marathon – October 23rd, 2011

Knowing that I will soon need to begin ramping up training event more for the Ironman Wales event in 2012, I want to remain in running form if nothing else.  To keep that initiative alive I plan on registering for this easy-does-it Half Marathon just for shits and giggles.  If I can repeat a sub two hour time, awesome, but I’m not going to beat myself up to accomplish it.  This race will just be the icing on the cake for 2011.

Yup, it’s going to be an interesting (if not long) year for sure.  Lots of firsts, and hopefully lots of improved times.  If not, there is guaranteed to be lots of tears so, either way, it promises to make for good reading throughout the year.

Comments
  1. […] have hinted at some of my personal fitness goals for this year in other posts, specifically Going Long in 2011, but I thought I’d also take a moment here to review them for you in a bit more detail.  I […]

Leave a Reply

