Magnesium Meltdown

Posted: February 6, 2011 in In Transition, Nutrition
Tags: ,

Okay, so I have a bit of a moot complaint to get off my chest here.   This past week, as part of my Cramping action plan, I decided to begin increasing my intake of magnesium.  I know, I know, I wasn’t going to do the whole supplement thing and more rely on the natural foods thing instead, but there they were…50% Off.  Who can resist such a temptation?  So, for only $3.49, I came home with a container of 60  300mg caplets.  Now, besides my normal 100mg of magnesium provided in my morning One a Day multi-vitamin, I am taking an added 300mg caplet per day, giving me a total (at least) consumption of 400mg per day of magnesium daily.  Do I rock, or do I rock?

But, regardless, there is one small thing that annoys me about this whole situation.  Look at the size of this horse pill!  Seriously, is that a mineral supplement or a Twinkie?

Is that a caplet or the obelisk from 2001: A Space Odyssey?

Here, let me try and put it in a better perspective for you:

The Usual Suppliments

Besides Mt. Magnesium, there, you also have my One a Day multi-vitamin, which I would consider to be a pretty beefy tablet in it’s own right, and an Ibuprofen that I might also take from time to time.  What the fuck?  I’m practically getting an added bicep workout each time I hoist one of these suckers to my mouth!  Where other guys merely ‘pump iron‘; I tend to ‘pump magnesium’, homeboy.

Why does a 300mg caplet have to be so damn huge?  Trying to swallow one of these bad boys is like trying to work a softball down your throat.  Now I also know how a Parisian goose feels come foie gras season.  Excellent.  I guess I’m going to have to forgo my morning apple just so save room for my daily mineral supplement.  The things we do to be healthy, eh?

Oh, and by the way, I haven’t had any repeat episodes since Tuesday’s pool drama (or, shall we say…‘accidents’ either).  So whatever it was that these magnesium horse pills were supposed to be providing or aiding in, it definitely seems to be working.   Boo-yah!

Comments
  1. Why the magnesium? What is it good for? And yes, total horse pill.

Leave a Reply

