The ‘Leftover Breakfast Supreme’

Posted: February 11, 2011 in Recipes
Tags:

Once a week I get to play hooky from work and stay home.  I still have to work, mind you, but I get to do it all in the comforts of my own home for a change.  I was a bit trepidatious at first about working from home as I tend to struggle with focus from time to time…shocking, I know.  I have found, however, that I am actually much more productive at home, and I don’t get distracted by the television, household chores, the cat, napping, etc., as I expected I might.  I actually get shit done!  Good for me.

I think one of the reasons this working from home has been so successful is the fact that since I’m at home, I get to spend my “breaks”, as well as those “thoughtful moments”, in the one place I love but don’t get nearly enough time alone in – the kitchen.  And it’s not the act of actually preparing and eating the food that I find so therapeutic and motivating, but the fact that I can also actively feed myself better brain food with which to stimulate those creative work impulses so that I can concentrate better.

For example, I’m usually a quick-green-smoothie-and-vitamin guy before running out the door to work.  But today, immediately following my morning coffee and my first round of emails, I took a brief break to make myself a proper healthy breakfast to get me into the early afternoon; something I am going to patent as my ‘Leftover Breakfast Supreme’.

Everything but the kitchen sink…

Going into the refrigerator, I found 1 egg, some leftover tuna for the cat, some semi-fresh salsa I made as my mid week treat, spinach for my usual green smoothies, a bit of ricotta cheese from Monday night’s soy stuffed manicotti, two slices of light rye I got from the bakery this past Sunday (hence the toasted part).  On the side, is a sliced up ½ Bosc pear that I add to my green smoothies as well, some strawberries & blueberries that I will usually bring in with me to work as my morning snack…and, of course, my One a Day vitamin tablet, as well as my magnesium caplet.  In fact, judging by the enormous sun shadow being thrown off Mt. Magnesium on the plate there, I’d say it’s approximately 10:14am EST.

Just fry up the egg with some garlic butter and chili flake, toast the rye bread, layer on the tuna, salsa, and ricotta, season with salt and pepper and bang it all in the oven at 350-degrees for just a few minutes to warm through (add the spinach afterwards), and toss the fruit on the side before going to town.  Preparation time: 8-10 minutes.

The LBS (tm) is loaded with protein and “good” cholesterol from the fried egg, more protein and omega-3 fatty acids from the spinach and tuna, cancer-fighting lycopenes from the salsa, not to mention potassium, calcium, iron, magnesium (yes!), Vitamins A, C, B6, as well as a whole host of other beneficial dietary supplements; while still being relatively low in fat and calories to boot.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

