Fitness Goals for 2011

Posted: February 25, 2011 in Lifestyle
Tags:

I have hinted at some of my personal fitness goals for this year in other posts, specifically Going Long in 2011, but I thought I’d also take a moment here to review them for you in a bit more detail.  I don’t intend this to be a ‘Look at me and how awesome I am’  kind of post but, rather, an added means of keeping myself accountable to my own personal goals before my peers and that just happens to be you, cupcake!  Maybe I’m biting off a bit more than I can chew at this point, but I am confident in my abilities as I am in my training, and if it doesn’t happen this year then I have no doubts it will eventually.  But in the meantime, here is what I am shooting for:

1)   Drop weight, fat boy!  

After my initial burst of weight loss over a year ago I have hovered around the 205 lbs mark for months now.  I typically raced all last season as a Clydesdale, however, the accolades that go along with being the fastest fat guy didn’t quite provide the self-fulfillment I was looking for.  It was kind of like being the ‘Employee of the Month’ at Tim Horton’s…whoopee shit.  So this year I’m secretly looking to be a dark horse contender in my own age category of 35-39 years.  To help with this I’ve decided to try and drop my racing weight to 180 lbs by September (if not by June).  Already, after approximately a month and a half or so I have dropped to 190 lbs, the lowest I have weighed since high school and I would like to make that next big bid for another10 lbs beginning next month.  So far, so good!

2)   Sub two-hour half marathon. 

My “official” best time at the 21.5k distance is 2:05:02, set in the Wellness Half Marathon in Bonifacio City, Manila in the 94-degree heat and 74% humidity.  I have already broken that benchmark on a few training runs, but it has not been set as “official” yet, per se.  I am confident that this will happen this year and that my current weight loss is totally making this possible.  I get my first official kick at the cat this weekend for the Grimsby Half Marathon on Sunday (February 27th).  The initial weather forecast is showing snow, strong winds and sub-zero temperatures so I’m trying to be realistic, however, this does sound like just my kind of ‘Sufferfest’.  So while my “dream time” of 1 hour and 50 minutes may not be possible this time around, I am still optimistic about my achieving the sub two-hour goal.  The real test, though, will come much later in the year when I try and maintain this same sub two-hour pace after having already completed a 2k swim and 90k bike ride (more detail to come).

3)    Complete a Half Ironman in 5 hours, 30 minutes. 

Last year, in my first attempt, I finished in 5:56:47 which, I feel, was very respectable for a guy then weighing in at 207 lbs.  I learned a few lessons that day and have made some pretty significant changes to my training approach this year, including my intent to race at a much lighter weight come time.  I will have two attempts at this goal in 2011 in Welland (June), and again in Cancun (September).  Where I would really like to bring the roof down in Cancun, the local Welland race might be better suited to accomplishing this particular goal seeing as how it is about as flat and unchallenging as a course can get.  We’ll have to see how I feel come race day and what my coach thinks before I decide if I want to go all out in Welland, or just use it as a training opportunity for September’s A-race.

4)    Sub 30 minute 2k swim.

Part of my strategy for accomplishing my half Ironman goal is getting my 2k swim down to under 30 minutes.  During last years Mussleman Triathlon, I emerged from the water – comfortably – at 35:17.  While it’s not particularly my favorite part of the race, I am pretty fearless in the water and tend to do pretty well in the swim leg.  I also believe that starting off with a good swim is absolute key for any successful triathlon and, therefore, I’d like to set 30 minutes as my 2k benchmark to work towards.  To accomplish this, I will need to spend lots of time in the pool this season working on my kicking.  I can foresee a lot of drills in my future and, perhaps, gills.

5)    Sub 2 hour, 30 minute 90k bike. 

Part and parcel for a successful 5 hour, 30 minute half Ironman, I want to also be able to get through the bike leg in two and a half hours.  If I can manage this after completing a sub 30 minute swim, I figure my Half Ironman goal will be in the bag.  I enjoy cycling immensely and feel that I have improved by leaps and bounds in the last two seasons.  I more enjoy the longer distances over the shorter distances, and I am already working hard on being a better climber given my new lighter frame.  I am quite confident that this goal is also manageable with some added speedwork come Springtime.

6)    Be able to keep ahead of, or push my teammates a little harder. 

Given my decent swim times and my developing skills on the bike, I am usually the guy that gets out front fast.  It also helps that my wave usually leaves a few minutes before many of my training peers, but I digress.  But, usually, somewhere along the way – usually the run – they begin to catch and pass me one by one…the skinny bastards.  This year is going to be different.  The plan is to get out front and then stay out front – period.  If any of them want to catch me at any point they’re going to have to be willing to suffer worse than me and, believe me, I am prepared to suffer.  Having said this, I really respect the people I currently train with and will be very proud of them should they catch me or not.  They’re all good people and well talented and disciplined to boot.  I will definitely have my work cut out for me in making this goal a reality.  Hey, even if they do catch me but had to push harder to do it then I will also take pride in my having helped them accomplish, hopefully, a new personal best of their own.

Comments
  1. Looks good. Good luck this weekend.

    – Cupcake.

  2. Jan says:

    Terry, your tenacity really is incredible! Kinda miss your bum tho, it’s all but gone at 190 lbs. But I’m with you all the way. I’m off to shovel your whole Grimsby course before you get there. JUST DO IT TERRY!
    Another cupcake!

  3. Jesus, those are some pretty awesome goals. Mine are to lose 30lbs and be able to do 10 push ups! Oh, and climb to the top of one of our local mountains (www.redresort.ca) so I can take in the awesome view. I hope to be able to do that this summer.

  4. mom says:

    You are dedicated enough to do whatever you set your mind to do. I have all the faith in the world in you!

  5. […] Recap: (click here for my current Fitness […]

Leave a Reply

