The Push-up Challenge

Posted: March 10, 2011 in Gym
Tags:

I find that keeping my weights sessions interesting as well as challenging is absolutely key while trying to keep myself motivated enough to do them.  Given that the majority of my time is now exclusively dedicated to either swimming, running and cycling, I still want to maintain one or two low-impact strengthening and conditioning workouts a week just to keep everything strong and functionable.  Hey, I am ambitious if nothing else.

So to keep myself accountable to this continued bodily development, I have taken up regular yoga sessions through the week as well as adapting specific little goals in my weights workouts.  To this regard, I like to set these little challenges for myself to accomplish just as I do with my other training.  You know, learn a new gym trick just for shits n’ giggles.  Besides showing off for the hunnies, this gives me something to practice and work on while still receiving the obvious benefit of having an effective and disciplined weights and/or core workout.  Here is my new challenge:

Yup, that’s right!  I would like to be able to do a set of 40 of these push-ups…to start with.  How slick am I going to look dropping down to crank out 40 of these bad boys?  Already, I have worked myself up to 3 x 6 of these push-ups without falling off…that’s a grand total of 18, so far…and it’s getting easier.  To manage this, I literally use every muscle in my body (or so it feels anyway), my core, as well as heaps of concentration and focus.  In fact, it’s more mental than anything and that kind of training is absolutely priceless in my book.  It’s fun, it’s feels good afterwards, and the nods and looks of approval from the other gym patrons certainly arn’t too shabby either.  Once I achieve this main push-up goal (1 x 40) I will post video documentation here of my success with my new HP Flip.

Stay tuned sports fans…

Comments
  1. Carolyn H. says:

    Wow. Ambitious. I used to do them with a ball under one arm. But under two arms and my feet. Again, wow.

    I’m standing my for the play by play recap.

  2. Jen says:

    Man alive!!! If I could do one of those without the balls it would be a miracle. LOL. How do you not fall off???

  3. Update: I completed 1 x 7, 1 x 8, 1 x 9 sets of push-ups today. Total = 24.

  4. Progress report: 3 sets x 11 push-ups. Total daily push-ups count = 33

  5. […] less to gain more.  Who knew?  I can now do LOTS of push-ups and I am getting closer to my ‘Push-Up Challenge‘ goal of being able to do 40 medicine ball push-ups consecutively.  Also, I can do a […]

Leave a Reply

