Strong Kids

Posted: May 15, 2011 in Equipment, Motivation
Tags: , , ,

Inspiration and motivation often strike you in the most unexpected ways, as was the case with me this afternoon.  It’s not always about the pace, the distance, time, or whatever other means you have of evaluating your performance, sometimes it’s the way that you attempt to inspire and assist others, or how they in turn inspire and assist you that really makes that significant impact in your over all performance – at least that’s the way it is with me anyway, hence, my whole Brussel Sprout Philosophy of triathlon.

Is it gorgeous or what?

This is my new Strong Kids  bracelet which was wonderfully conceived, proudly crafted and sold for the expressed purpose of raising money in support of the Strong Kids program through the YMCA – and I love it!

Rarin’ to go: Riley (left) and Maddy (right)

The initial concept for these gorgeous bracelets was the sole brainchild of Madeline (aged 6); one of two young daughters of my training peer and close friend through the TryForce triathlon group with which I am affiliated.  As it was related to me upon the sales pitch (it wasn’t a tough sale either, let me tell you), fundraising and helping others in need has become a recent passion for Maddy; specifically for disadvantaged children.   How can you say ‘No’ to a great cause like that?

Kick heiny girls!

Both Maddy and her sister Riley (aged 4) recently participated in the Confederation Park 5k race with some pretty impressive results and that’s something to be proud of.  I get very excited when I see young children begin these small ventures into the world of multi-sport as it is with both the Strong Kids and the Kids of Steel programs and that’s something I definitely want to both encourage and support as I can see myself becoming much more involved in these types of community programs once I tackle and complete my own big Ironman adventure next year.

Does the bracelet have any special properties?  No.  Does it provide me with any specific advantage in either my training or racing?  Not really.  Nor is it aero, sweat resistant, breathable, buoyant, or anything else for that matter that might constitute it as an essential piece of triathlon equipment, but do I plan on making it a valuable part of my own triathlon ritual?  Abso-freaking-lutely!

So come race day, whenever or wherever I may be, you can fully expect to see me proudly sporting this fine work of craftsmanship in all my finishers photographs this year.

Thanks Maddy!

P.S.> If anybody wishes to purchase their own Strong Kids bracelet from Maddy (at a very affordable price, I might add) please don’t hesitate to contact me directly and I’ll do my very best to place an order for you, or you can simply make an online donation to this excellent program directly through the website (linked above) yourself.

Comments
  1. Lindsay says:

    Terry,
    Love this post…so proud of Maddy. What an amazing group of friends we have (both young and old). So glad to be a part of such an amazing group.
    L

  2. Jan says:

    Count us in for bracelets (Jodi, Jan) Terry! Even if I didn’t believe in the cause, Maddy and Riley did an awesome job doing 5K. I’m impressed. Please order for us. Thanks!

  3. Lori Pajtasz says:

    Hey Terry
    Guess I missed a great social.
    Achieving a PB or accomplishing a personal goal is a great outcome of hard training – but what’s even more important is the friends we have made, the laughs we have shared, and the fact that we inspire each other daily. To see that momentum spread to amazing young people like Maddy & Riley, and to have them use sport as a vehicle to help those less fortunate is humbling.
    So yes, please order me a bracelet. I’ll pay you @ the Y.
    Lori

Leave a Reply

