Acknowledging the ‘Small Victories’

Posted: July 28, 2011 in Motivation
Tags: ,

Not all victories are accomplished on the battlefield; sometimes they are achieved even before the battle has been waged, or afterwards, or perhaps they may not even go noticed at all.  But aren’t these small insignificant victories also worth celebrating?  After all, without the small victories, the big ones wouldn’t be possible would they?

Where I typically write about the major events and circumstances that occur in my weekly regiment, I’m going to instead highlight here those lesser-known triumphs that also serve as benchmarks that my training is going well.  Hey, it’s not always about how hard, how fast or how far you’re able to go at the end of the day.

So, without further adieu, here are my five latest accomplishments which, although minor and perhaps event moot, are still victories in themselves nonetheless.

1.  Flip turns.  I have really struggled with flip-turns in the pool but I made a conscientious decision early this year to improve them since I spend enough time in the pool as it is and I’d like to at least look like, as well as feel like an elite swimmer.  I set out a plan, or my ‘Flip-Turn Clinic’  if you will, and I practiced religiously while doing my regular laps.  Well, as of last week, I can now get through an entire 2.5-3k  swim workout complete with flip-turns – comfortably.  Move over Michael Phelps!

2.  Yoga.  As you now already, I joined a local yoga studio in the hopes of my making a commitment to spent adequate time in both recovering from my workouts, as well as strengthening my core to better enhance these same workouts; it’s your classic ‘two-birds-with-one-stone’ scenario.  My victory came with finally being able to make it through an entire Hatha class without the instructor coming over to assist or reposition me in any way.  Hell, she even said I had “nice bends” whatever that means.  But, again, I’m a sucker for that kind of positive motivation so if it’s ‘nice bends’ I got, then I’m going to rock them to the very height of awesomeness.

3.  Hot Yoga/Humidity.  I’m not sure this is a huge victory by any means, but I made it successfully through my first hot yoga class without having to leave to take a break.  To point:  that’s SEVENTY full minutes in an environment set to 105°F (40% humidity).  It may be officially known as the ‘Bikram’ style of yoga, but I prefer to refer to it as ‘Damn!  It’s hot as hell in here, bitch!’, so being able to withstand this extreme condition is definitely beginning to boost my confidence in being able to perform when the temperatures are expected to climb to 87-88°F (31-32°C) by mid-day alone.  The other upshot to hot yoga is that nobody ever notices me crying.

4.  Weight Loss.  Down to 178 lbs.  Nuff said.

5.  Ditched the wetsuit.  To prepare for a non-wetsuit legal event, I have been spending more time open water swimming sans wetsuit, relying only on my tri suit for buoyancy (which is minimal at best).  Believe me; you notice that extra necessary effort when you’re not already floating on the surface of the water, particularly when swimming against the current.  But I’m managing and actually enjoying these swims as they provide a pleasant and welcome break from my other more grueling workout sessions where there is no protection from the sun and/or humidity.  Now, if only I could find some waves…

6.  Quit the Weed.  Yes, it’s true.  I’m sure there will be a lengthier post relating to this shortly, but as of this writing I am 100% au naturel.  I know, right?  After my 39th birthday last week, I decided that now was the time to make the break.  I don’t want to head into my 40’s  still clinging desperately to this nagging monkey on my back, I want to beat it senseless with running, cycling and swimming.  I want to attack it like a demon possessed.  If I want to be a serious contender as an ‘Age Grouper’, this will be easier achieved sans pot – no question.  I will miss my precious ‘po-po’ and I may even still indulge on occasion as a treat if it happens to be offered, but for now, it’s no longer on the daily menu.  I may not be the next Stoner Ironman as I originally intended, but some things were never meant to be I guess.

What small victories have you accomplished lately?

Comments
  1. mom says:

    I managed to get through work, with my sanity intact! Let’s make this no weed month!!!!!

  2. Dude, down to 178. I better lay off the chocolate, or damn, you might catch me. 😉 I’m proud of you Terry.

Leave a Reply

