Coping With ‘SMS’

Posted: August 23, 2011 in Lifestyle, Yoga
Tags: ,

I have been very careful to observe all the customary yoga etiquette tips and recommendations, specifically as they relate to a dude visiting ‘Fox Base Yoga’  on a regular basis; and, so far, so good.  I believe it is helping with my strength and core conditioning as well as my ability to breathe through periods of discomfort, particularly the humidity.  I’ve even extended my ‘30 Day Yoga Challenge’ for another three months and I feel like I’m finally starting to blend in as some of the (female) instructors are now warming to my presence and even assisting me more, while others, well, not so much but, hopefully, all in good time.

As part of this ‘fitting in’ process I try to go nicely groomed and presentable apart from simply wearing my usual ripped and sweaty gym attire.  Oh, and I try to not go smelling like fetid pole cat as that can only help with the transition I figure; well, up until today’s hot yoga session that is.

If I’ve learned anything, it’s that ‘Child’s Pose’  is one of those postures that every time it’s entered, it acts as a reminder that it’s okay to rest and accept the peace that comes from resting.  In fact, it’s one of my particular favorites during any hot yoga class since those momentary ‘breaks’ are as well deserved as they are needed, let me tell you!  Unfortunately today, while it was providing me with this sense of relief, it also alerted me to the presence of what I will coin as ‘SMS’  (Stinky Mat Syndrome); no doubt thanks to the close proximity of my nose to the mat itself.  Yes, despite my wiping it down after every session with a water/vinegar mix (as is typical), there was no denying that my mat has the funk…and not the good kind either.  My mat was practically emitting stink rays.  So unless I want to run the risk of developing a nasty case of foot fungus on my forehead, I think it’s time to give my mat a bath.

So with that thought in mind, I went searching for a cure. Here’s what a little research turned up on different ways to keep a mat in tip-top shape.  After all, where a ‘sticky’ mat is favored, a ‘stinky’ mat simply will not do.

The obvious solution is this:

“If your mat is lightly soiled, use a spray bottle, damp sponge, or terry cloth rag to apply a solution of two cups of water and four drops of dish soap. Rub the soiled areas. Wipe the mat with clean water; then rub with a dry terry cloth towel.  Hang to air dry.”

So I tried this, but I must sweat pure battery acid or something, because that simple process sure didn’t combat the kind of funk emanating from my mat, that’s for sure!  Shit, I was thinking that I might need an exorcist instead, but then I found this:

“To make your yoga mat spray put 4 drops of lavender, 3 drops of tea-tree oil and 3 drops of grapefruit seed extract into your spray bottle (remember these are very concentrated substances and a little goes a long way). Fill the bottle with pure water, cap it and shake well (shake it up before each use). You can spray this lightly or generously onto your mat after each use or just when you feel inspired. It makes the room and the mat smell fresh and clean. You can rest assured that any funkiness has been effectively dealt with. This is one of the easiest and quickest ways to maintain and clean your yoga mat. Leave the mat out to air dry completely before rolling and storing.”

I know, I know…lavender?  Isn’t that pretty girly, dude?  Well, yeah, so what?  For the record, besides being an effective antiseptic, lavender is also an extremely beneficial in treating headaches while promoting relaxation which – for me, anyway – is one of the major benefits of yoga in the first place.  And, hey, when in Rome (or ‘Ladytown’  as it may be), can you really afford to skimp out on smelling pretty?  I think not.

So I gave this concoction a try this afternoon and – EUREKAsuccess! My mat now smells like it was procured from the gardens of Ganesh himself.  So, now, while I’m working on my Chaturanga I also don’t have to worry about any other distracting odors from preventing me (or others) from achieving my (their) spiritual oneness.  Booyah!

Leave a Reply

