Jogging Down Memory Lane

Posted: September 4, 2011 in Run, Training
Tags: ,
  • Long(ish) Run (click to see stats)
  • 15k (1:18:23)
  • Avg. Heart Rate = 163bpm
  • Max. Heart Rate = 176 bpm
  • Avg. Pace = 5:13/km
  • Best Pace = 3:48 /km
  • Calories = 14291
  • Temp = 27º
  • SOTD: ‘The Scientist’  by Willie Nelson

Truth be told, I haven’t really been enjoying my runs lately, which has posed a bit of problem considering that I have a big  one coming in just two short weeks.  But I decided to take drastic measures and swop out my faithful pair of Mizuno Wave Inspire 6  for a new pair of Mizuno Wave Inspire 7  and all is well again.  I know, I know, I live life right on the edge – what can I say?

So with a new found vigor and an added spring in my step, I headed off for my last long training run in the heat of the day for one last Suckfest  before Cancun.  I decided to retrace one of my routes from earlier this season which takes me through my old stomping grounds of Merritton, hoping that a jaunt through familiar turf (or, pavement as it were) would inspire me with some added energy and positive vibes.  Hey, what do I have to lose?

I started the run down Crescent Ave. heading towards Oakdale Ave. and was immediately greeted with claps and cheers of encouragement from all the working girls that often frequent the street corners along there.  This was a popular route for me through the winter months so I’ve become something of a minor celebrity among all the ho’s in that neighborhood.  It’s was kinda nice to see them out in full force for the Labor Day weekend and I was glad to see them in good spirits so early in the evening.  I dropped a few Toonies and continued on my way towards Merritton proper with a casual wave.  I hope they all eventually find some sense of freedom and the ultimate release similar to what I’ve found over these past few months.  Good luck, girls!

While coming down Oakdale Ave. I was met with some whistles coming from what looked to be a carload of high school girls.  Hey, I’m probably old enough to be your father girls, but thanks!  I’ll take all the whistles you can muster ladies; beggars can’t be choosers after all…so I picked up the pace just a little.

I ran past the grounds at the Merritton Lions Carnival and, boy oh boy, was it a sad sight to behold.  As kids, my brother and sister and I drive our parents crazy anticipating the opportunity to ride extortionately priced amusement rides, gorge ourselves on cotton candy and waffle cakes, blow about half of dad’s weekly wages on the Midway games before returning to lay out our clothes for the first day of school the following day.  It was an annual tradition for our family as it was for every other family in the area; a total right of passage.  But today?  Well, let’s just say that same tradition is still there but not with quite the same amount of, shall we say, enthusiasm?  There had to be about, maybe, two dozen people scattered over about half as many rides as well as the Midway.  The waffle Cake booth is long gone, but the familiar smell of Lions cheeseburgers still wafted through the air begging me to take a quick break but unfortunately all my money was now being fought over by the ho’s back on Crescent Ave. so on I continued…albeit a bit slower to enjoy the heavy scent of grease and grilled flesh.

I took an opportunity to think about all the people who have been supporting me lately and have flooded me with their kind words of encouragement: Lori, Carolyn, Jason, Kelly, Elaine, Colette & John, Robin, Catherine, Doreen, Jan, Cathy, Chantal, Lynne, who all know who you are; and there are so many more to boot.  You’re the reason why I’m still doing this…and surviving.  And on I went…

I jogged down  St. Augustine Dr., Rockwood Ave. and Dundonald Str. on the off chance that I might bump into some familiar faces.  I didn’t, of course, but I still maintained a decent pace anyways on the off chance that I might be recognized from a porch or through a living room window somewhere.  I was pleased to receive more whistles and cheers, this time from a group of older girls (university maybe?) while rounding the corner at Dunvegan Rd.  Okay, why I haven’t I run this route more often?  My pride started to swell as big as the blisters on the soles of my feet and so I upped* the pace again.

I ran past Vanessa’s house hoping she may be out in her garden, but to no avail, so I looped around and back into Merritton again looking for more cat calls before heading back downtown towards home.  I eventually passed through the downtown core where, yet again, I got more whistles from a group of women on the prowl down St. Paul Str.  Okay, this might be the best run ever!  Maybe I’m finally starting to acquire those buffed out runners calves.  Funnily enough, I did bump into Vanessa and her fiancé outside the Liquor store on King Str. but by that time I was already on the home stretch and beginning to max out my pace so I gave them my best Strongman pose and continued on.  Time to bring it home, baby!

So with my ego already stoked beyond healthy proportions I finished off my 15k in decent time for what was meant to be an otherwise “easy” conditioning run.  As soon as I stopped at the ‘ol homestead, I discovered something: I was feeling confident again.  I don’t know if it was the happy ho’s or the wee jaunt through Memory Lane, but whatever it was, I started to feel that familiar feeling in my stomach like I’m actually ready to race again; ready to ‘kill it’, as it were.  The last few stresses remaining from the past month had finally melted away amidst a bevy of cat calls and wafting cheeseburger aromas.  Funny how life works.

You know, I might just be ready for this whole Cancun thing.

* Yes, I just said ‘upped’.  I’m totally bringing it back.

Leave a Reply

