Tightwad Triathlete Tip #5

Posted: October 6, 2011 in Financial
Tags: ,

After returning from Cancun, I have developed a real passion for Mexican cuisine; burritos, chimichangas, quesadillas, empanadas, enchiladas, tostadas, whatever baby…bring it on!  It’s all good.  Hell, I even brought back the Complete Mexican, South American & Caribbean Cuisine to guide me along the way once I returned home.  It’s healthy, relatively easy to prepare and, shit, it’s damn tasty!

Unfortunately, it usually means using sour cream.  Now, it’s not that I don’t like sour cream; in fact, I love it.  But where I can easily make my own salsa, mole and guacamole to compliment all my home prepared Mexican dishes…sour cream?  Not so much.  Anything requiring proper “fermenting” is just not going to happen in my kitchen…well, not on purpose anyway.  I’m just not willing to go there.

To make matters worse, sour cream is damn expensive!  And you can’t even buy little containers of it anymore, you’re stuck purchasing those big ass containers for $4.99 (if you’re lucky) at the Superstore and for what?  A dollop here and there?  The last time I bought a tub of sour cream, I used approximately three spoonfuls and the rest went bad…quickly…a total waste of money.

But, never fear, the ‘Tightwad Triathlete’ is here!  No more will you have to drop a bundle just for a few measly spoonfuls of sour cream to go with your chicken fajitas, instead, get it for free.  That’s right, FREE!  And who can’t afford free?  Am I right?

Convenient, and FREE!

I recently figured out that the local Wendy’s hands out little tubs of sour cream as condiments with the purchase of any one of their baked potato side dishes.  Now, I never eat at Wendy’s, true, but that’s not stopping me from going in and asking for my sour cream, is it?  It goes a little something like this:

Excuse me, I bought a baked potato a few minutes ago from the Drive-Thru and they forgot my sour cream.  May I have some please?

And, Presto!, instant free sour cream; and the best part?  It even comes with an apology.  Winning!

If you play your cards right, or push your luck by faking a temper tantrum, they’ll practically hand you a dozen of them – no questions asked.  How beautiful is that?  Each little container of sour cream is enough for two spoonfuls, or about two food portions of whatever it is that I happen to be making for dinner.  And as long as you don’t open them, they practically never expire.  Awesome, right?

Yummy fajita!

I know, I know…I’m going straight to Hell.  But I figure I’m already well on my way there given my proposed workout schedule this year leading up to Ironman Wales, so I may as well be well fed and fueled along the way.  Besides, ‘Improvise, adapt and overcome’  I always say.  And with that added $4.99 in my pocket come grocery day, I can put that towards more important things…like another pair of discount yoga shorts from Giant Tiger or, maybe a low fat café latte from Starbucks after my next long training ride.

The possibilities are endless!

Comments
  1. Jeff C says:

    brilliant!! I’m going to try that for sure. If supermarkets were smart they’d sell those little suckers in 6 packs…not that I’m advocating yet more unnecessary packaging or anything like that….just saying 😉

  2. Joni says:

    First off you are correct about the sour cream- but how could anyone eat a baked potato without it??? voila! now use Greek Yogurt as your favourite sour cream- and on the plus side, it can be combined with fruit, bran buds and some honey for a protein packed breakfast or snack!

Leave a Reply

