Kale Waldorf Salad

Posted: October 24, 2011 in Nutrition, Recipes
Tags:

So now that training has resumed, well, the weights and plyometrics part anyway, the real calorie burning can begin.  So it’s time to bring on the healthy recipes and I vow to load you up with many more of them than I did last year…promise!

Deliciousness in a bowl…

This recipe for ‘Kale Waldorf Salad’ was forwarded to me by a friend who is participating in the ‘8 Week Challenge’ (and doing well and looking fabulous, I might add).  I tweaked the recipe just a bit to suit my own tastes, not to mention what I currently had in the cupboard-slash-refrigerator, but for the most part I stayed true to the original recipe.  I’ve included the video for this scrumptious salad below but, first, kale?  Really?  Doesn’t kale taste like lawn trimmings?  Yeah, I can’t really say I love kale either as, let’s face it, it’s not one of the more, shall we say, beautiful cruciferous vegetables, but I do love the weighty health benefits that it provides.

Primarily, kale is highly recommended for it dietary and digestion benefits.  One cup of kale has only 36 calories and zero grams of fat, which makes it a great diet aid. Furthermore, one cup contains nearly 20% of the RDA of dietary fiber, which promotes regular digestion, prevents constipation (Yay, more poops!), lowers blood sugar and curbs overeating.  Likewise, that same one cup of kale also provides you with about 10% of the RDA of omega-3 fatty acids that helps regulate the body’s inflammatory process. The megadose of Vitamin K in kale further aids to fight against excessive inflammatory-related problems, such as arthritis, autoimmune disorders, asthma, and is necessary for the synthesis of osteocalcin, a protein that strengthens the composition of our bones.

To boot, kale is also super-loaded with vast quantities of Vitamins A and C, important sources of anti-oxidants (primarily carotenoids and flavonoids) to boost the immune system, prevents urinary stones, lowers blood pressure, maintains healthy bones and teeth, fights against age-related ocular diseases, and aids in enhancing our reproductive organs…which isn’t really on my Ironman plan, per se, but why take chances?  What’s an Ironman without his Ironsperm, am I right?

My favorite, however, is its ability to enhance your cardiovascular system.  Kale’s high fiber content lowers our cholesterol by binding with bile acids that the liver produces from cholesterol for digesting fat. Because many of these bile acids are coupled with fiber, the liver is charged with producing more bile acid to digest fat, and therefore requires more cholesterol to so, ultimately lowering the amount of cholesterol within our bodies.  So what does this mean besides breaking down fat?  Well, what this basically translates to, is a healthier and more efficient flow of oxygen and nutrients through my blood vessels to all my muscles, and to an endurance athlete, this is pure gold.  After all, as I’ve said before, all the positive vibes in the world aren’t going to do shit if the muscles don’t have the needed fuel to make them work, recuperate, whatever.  It’d be like trying to race the ‘Indianapolis 500’ on an empty tank.

So bring on the kale!

Comments
  1. **** says:

    It really is an amazing salad !

  2. Joni says:

    Terry, healthy eating that supports the amount of energy out-put is my biggest problem! I don’t mind going without junk food- it just isn’t in the house…but I struggle daily with eating enough…and not too much at the same time. Its always easy to have a slice of grain toast topped with honey….but that protein is what I need….and veggies until I look like a rabbit or perhaps one of my chickens!
    Keep up with the nutrient packed meal recipes…..I’ll be trying all of them at some time or another.

Leave a Reply

