Yurbuds Ironman Inspire

Posted: November 4, 2011 in Equipment
Tags: ,

There is one piece of equipment that is essential to my training that I (or anybody else for that matter) seldom ever make reference to.  It doesn’t track calories, pace, route or distance, nor does it monitor my heart rate or bodily performance of any kind.  Yet, it is absolutely integral to any of my training workouts.  In fact, running or working out at the gym without it is practically non-negotiable, as in, ‘no way, Jose!’  Yeah.  It’s that integral.

I am speaking of course about my precious iPod – specifically, the earbuds – those annoying, aggravating, yet oh-so-important pieces of motivational equipment; the very lifeblood of any long workout.  A long run without tunes is like a night without stars, a day without sun, steak without the mushroom and onions, well, you get the picture.  I can only take so much of listening to the rhythm of my deep breathing and the patter of my soles on pavement before I also want to puncture my ear drums with a sharp pencil.  The problem is, or at least that I have found, is that earbuds are seldom suited for long endurance workouts.  Once the sweat starts a-pouring, they will either fall out, need constant readjustment, or slip and slide around inside your ear as if they were greased up, which, they are. Either way, it’s very distracting and annoying.  Then there is always the shitty sound quality to consider as well.

I’ve tried just about everything over the past two years as the normal iPod earbuds totally blow and are perfectly ill-equipped for anything that requires exertion of any kind.  I’ve tried just about every brand of in-the-ear and over-the-ear varieties that you can name, yet none ever seem to stay adequately lodged in my ear while still providing me with good sound quality.  The last earbuds I purchased was a pair of the Adidas Sennheiser OMX 680 Sports model, at the princely cost of $79.99.  I figured, hey, if they’re that much then they should be pretty good, right?  Wrong.  Even with a list of features as long as my arm, they completely sucked.  In fact, they even gave ‘sucking’ a bad name.  The adjustable ear clip may as well have been fashioned with a coat-hanger for all the comfort and practicality they provided.  The fact that they boasted that “their fully adjustable ear clips follow the contours of your ears, providing a secure, custom fit while high-output drivers deliver a powerful and energizing stereo sound, pepping you up during your run or work out”  is entirely laughable and a blatant travesty of marketing in my opinion.  Thank God they also came with a two year warranty, because they didn’t even last 8 months the way I train, so at least I can trade them in for a store credit or something.  So what’s a budding endurance athlete to do then?

Enter the Yurbuds Ironman Inspire.  How can one not be tempted with a brand whose marketing slogan is “developed for athletes by athletes”?

Here’s the skinny:

“The sport earphone that has changed the game for top endurance athletes and fitness enthusiasts by allowing them to enjoy music while training. Combining the patented Twist-Lock Technology and a personalized fit, these sport earphones are guaranteed to never fall out, even during the most rigorous physical activity. The Yurbuds Enhancers are manufactured from medical grade silicon giving the Ironman Inspire an ultra-soft and comfortable fit, while allowing for sufficient ambient noise, so you always stay aware of your surroundings. The rugged, water-resistant and sweat proof design make these sport earphones ready for extremely active use and a must for any athlete.”

Yeah, yeah, yeah…I’ve heard that before.  But let’s put them to the test, shall we?

Test #1:  Once I first plug these things into my ear I know they’re going to be awesome.  The special Yurbud cover that fits over the earphone itself quickly locks into position so that its patented sound tunnel is firmly lodged in my ear canal.  Yup, this baby isn’t going anywhere.  Ooooooo, and it’s as soft and smooth as a baby’s butt to boot.

Patented Twist Lock Technology

Test #2:  Time to take these babies out for a test drive.  Truth be told, I didn’t even know they were there as they were so soft and comfortable in my ear, and they never even slipped out of position so much as once, despite turning my head to watch for traffic, or whatever; they completely remained fixed in position.  Even when the sweat started, they nary budged.  And the sound was excellent as well, while still not completely droning out all the ambient traffic noise going on around me so that I wouldn’t get run over by some jackass in a Dodge Caravan.  Hell, even all the jumping around during my plyometrics workouts arn’t going to dislodge these bad mamma-jamma’s.

Verdict:  These things rock.  In fact, I can’t even imagine how I ever coped without them.  Goodbye fancy, over-priced pieces of shit; heeeeeeeelloo $49.99  Yurbuds Ironman Inspire!  Money well spent in my opinion.

Comments
  1. Jan says:

    You are an encyclopedia of information for the Triathlete now. Can’t wait til you market your information and make bucks from it!
    What an ad that is when you click the product link!!!!

  2. S says:

    I Couldn’t disagree more. I just bought a pair of yurbuds the other day and they sound awful. For $30, I don’t expect studio quality. In fact, for that much, I don’t even expect good quality but it’s as if they went out of their way to make them sound REALLY BAD. Until I can get another pair, I’ll just run in silence.

Leave a Reply

