Tighwad Triathlete Tip #6

Posted: November 27, 2011 in Financial
Tags: ,

As I am still in what can be considered as my “off season” training period, I am primarily focused on muscle development rather than endurance.  There will be lots of time to clock in the endless hours come the new year, but right now it’s all about the weights and getting huge (metaphorically speaking, of course).  And as such, getting the proper amounts of protein into my body to repair all the damage I’m currently inflicting on my muscles is a major consideration.

Where I try to keep things as natural and healthy as possible, one can only eat so many beans before one turns themselves into a walking minefield and that can be extremely dangerous while exercising.  So I usually take my added doses of protein throughout the day – as many do – in the form of protein shakes.  Problem is; protein powder tends to get a tad bit costly.  One visit to any health food store or muscle shop will reveal only about a zillion varieties of whey protein available on the market, all ranging between $69.99  and $89.99  per 850g  tub and that, my friends, is big bucks for big muscles.  There is soy protein, whey protein, hydrolyzed whey protein, casein protein, egg white protein, plant protein (including hemp, rice, etc.), and whey isolate, whatever, they all amount to the same thing – mucho dinero.  And at the rate and dosage I’d like to be taking my daily protein, that  could equal the Gross National Product of any small developing Third World country and I don’t have that kind of moolah at hand.

But never fear, ‘Tightwad Triathlete’ to the rescue!  As long as you’re not too particular about the type of protein you like to supplement your diet with (you will have to do your own research there), I have found that you can purchase whey protein isolate from your Bulk Barn for approximately $14.99  per lb.  Even at that price, it’s already considerably cheaper than any of the muscle shop brand names; but it doesn’t have to stop there either…

One of these things is not like the other…

As it turns out, whey protein isolate also happens to look (similar) exactly like soy (low fat) gluten free four, which is modestly priced at $1.35 per lb.  So at 850g I’m spending exactly $2.52  which equals a savings of approximately $67.47 to $87.47.  Ka-CHING!

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m sure that the general type of ‘No Name’ whey powder isolate at your local bulk food store is nowhere near the quality of the other more reputable brands available on the market, but at a nearly 97%  discount rate, I’m quite prepared to deal with it.  Close enough in my books.

Comments
  1. Jeff says:

    Awesome tip bud, never thought to look there. I bet the difference between the no-name whey you found and the expensive ones is minimal….which would explain all the mind numbing techno-hype they plaster all over their ads and packaging to fool you into believing their whey is the only whay 😉

    I’m curious though, just how much protein do you try to take on a daily basis? I usually do a 3/4 to 1 full scoop after my morning workout and another one on the days when I do an evening workout as well.

  2. Carolyn says:

    Too funny. I got busted trying to pay for cashew pieces when I bought whole cashews from the bulk bins. Took that shit back and got the pieces when I got called out.

Leave a Reply

