Let the Good Times Flow

Posted: December 24, 2011 in Injuries and Owies
Tags: ,

You may remember way back when, I once complained of suffering from a bad case of “Swimmers Sinusitis” after spending so much time swimming in chlorinated water at my local YMCA pool.  But, largely thanks to a few regular visitors to this blogsite, I stumbled onto the medicinal phenomenon known as the “Neti Pot”.  Sanskrit for “nasal cleansing”, and a hybrid cross between your grandma’s tea pot and Aladdin’s lamp, the Neti pot was largely popularized by Dr. Mehmet Oz in early 2007 on the ‘Oprah Winfrey’ show.  Sure, leave it to Oprah to convince millions of people to begin shoving plastic watering cans up their snouts for the purpose of flooding out their nasal passages with semi-salt water.  Terrific!  Thank you, Oprah!

I will admit that it was only with some serious trepidation that I even considered this ridiculousness on my own.  I did find one easily enough in the aisle of my local ‘Shoppers Drug Mart’, but then there it sat for nearly a month on my kitchen shelf before I actually gave any serious attention (largely due to the mounting pressure from my nurse girlfriend who, no doubt, was getting agitated with my continued snuffling and snorting).  Seriously, this all seemed so Michael Jackson weird to me at first, but what I didn’t understand initially was the basic explanation of how the Neti pot works.  Simply put, it thins the mucus and helps flush it out of the nasal passages and thereby alleviating a whole host of nasties resulting from blocked sinus cavities.  Most importantly, I wouldn’t sound like a congested truffle hog anymore.  A more biological explanation for how it works has to do with tiny, hair-like structures called ‘cilia’ (No, not the annoying Simon & Garfunkel ditty) that line the inside of the nasal and sinus cavities.  These cilia wave back and forth to push mucus either to the back of the throat where it can be swallowed, or to the nose to be blown out.  Saline solution can help increase the speed and improve coordination of the cilia so that they may more effectively remove the allergens and other irritants that cause sinus problems.  Sound like a party or what?

Yeah, yeah, yeah… it still means sticking something up my nose and allowing a warmish liquid to wash through my nasal cavities bringing, along with it, mucus…lots and LOTS of it.  It was a total snot tsunami.   ‘Juicy’ doesn’t even begin to describe it!

I could give you step-by-step instructions, of course, but some things you just need to see to believe.  Check this shit out:

I will confirm for you, though, that the results felt…amazing actually.  After the initial shock of how much snot was actually vacated from my nasal cavity through my nostrils – who knew I could become such a snot factory – I instantly felt more, well, snot-free I guess.  I was breathing easier and the mounting pressure in my forehead quickly subsided to boot – Winning!

So, in an effort to stave off similar repeat conditions I have been using Neti pot semi-regularly whenever I begin to feel just the slightest bit congested and, so far, despite increasing my pool workouts by another hour (3 hours in total) so far this year I have had not had any repeat occurrences.  Boo-yah!  So I was feeling pretty good about the whole darn thing until, that is, my girlfriend also brought this (click HERE to view) to my attention.

BRAIN EATING AMOEBAS!  Are you shittin’ me?  Besides making a pretty cool name for any self-respecting punk rock band, or some science-fiction double feature flick, the last thing I need to deal with in my training right now is to fall victim to any brain eating amoebas.  Thankfully, it is pretty easy to avoid simply by not using basic tap water.  If you don’t have instant access to filtered or purified water, at least boil your tap water first to remove any brain zombies prior to using.  Likewise, it is also important to make sure you clean out your Neti pot regularly to avoid any complications that way as well, but that advice seems rather moot if you ask me considering where you’re shoving it anyway.

So good luck and happy snotting, folks.

Comments
  1. Chuck T says:

    Note to self: Never read Terry’s blog before breakfast.

  2. Janet says:

    Swimming in the Atlantic ocean in November….. my sinusitis was cleared……. breathing in SeaAir on our cruise also keep my sinuses VERY happy…… VERY good reason to move to the seawater for the winter!!!

Leave a Reply

