Christmas Run

Posted: December 25, 2011 in Playlists, Run, Training
Tags: , ,
  • Long Run(click to see stats)
  • 18.5k (1:45:01)
  • Avg. Heart Rate = 148bpm
  • Max. Heart Rate = 158 bpm
  • Avg. Pace = 5:41/km
  • Best Pace = 4:50 /km
  • Calories = 1753
  • Temp = 6º
  • SOTD: See below

What Santa brings good hurting triathletes…

One of my holiday traditions has been to go for a long run early Christmas morning before most people are even out of bed.  The air is crisp and clean and you practically have the roadways to yourself.  Yeah, yeah, I know…I’m as crazy as a sack of reindeer-shit like that.  What can I say?

By the time I’ve completed the ‘out’ portion of my run and I am returning back into town again the lights in people’s front rooms are beginning to flick on and the smell of freshly roasted coffee is wafting through the morning air.  It’s peaceful…it’s my time before I return to open the flood gate of Christmas madness for the next two or three days, what with all the family visits, dinners, gifts and all the rest of the usual holiday hoopla.  What else is there to do since, living alone, I wake up to a steaming pile of ‘fuck all’ anyway…so I may as well sneak a workout in, right?  Besides, after three weeks of literal hors d’ Combat in an otherwise lawless, post-Apocalyptic wasteland that is my average local shopping mall these days, I’m more than ready for a little ‘Me Time’.  It’s true – I love my Christmas morning run.

It also happens to be the only time I purposely listen to Christmas music.  Usually I avoid Christmas tunes like I try to avoid contracting a case herpes, but Christmas morning is a little different.  This morning, however, I tried to fit in a little holiday spirit while my quads were on fire and my body was struggling with pending hypothermia.  Now, I’m not talking about your usual ‘Silent Night’  or ‘Jiggle Bells’  bullshit either, and while I’m at it, if I hear the over-obnoxious ‘Trans-Siberian Orchestra’ one more time this year I’m going to literally lose it and stomp somebody’s ass back to Biblical times.  I prefer – shall we say – a more off-the-wall holiday soundtrack; something that still gets my spirits soaring while getting my feet a-moving until I can get home to roast my chestnuts over that open fire and make my Yule-tide gay, and all that other Christmas crap.  Let’s face it, Burl Ives and Bing Crosby are hardly what I would call motivational ‘Pump Up’  music, so it was with great effort that I cobbled together this year’s Christmas Run soundtrack for this morning’s traditional holiday enjoyment:

  1. Vince Guaraldi Trio – Linus & Lucy
  2. Tom Waits – Silent Night> A Christmas Card From a Hooker in Minneapolis
  3. Polyphonic  Spree – Do You Hear What I Hear> Little Drummer Boy (Nokia Theater, 12-18-04)
  4. Rheostatics – Aliens, Christmas 1988
  5. The Pogues – Fairytale of New York
  6. Skydiggers – Good King Wencesles
  7. Ron Sexsmith – Maybe This Christmas
  8. Asylum Street Spankers – Mele Kalikimaka
  9. The Kinks – Father Christmas
  10. The Ramones – Merry Christmas (I Don’t Want to Fight Tonight)
  11. Manic Street Preachers – Ghost of Christmas
  12. Winter Wonderland – Liz Phair
  13. Booker T & the MG’s – Jingle Bells
  14. Bright Eyes – Blue Christmas
  15. Mazzy Star – 9 Flowers in December
  16. Yo La Tengo – I Feel Like Going Home
  17. Mohave 3 – Breaking the Ice
  18. Flaming Lips – White Christmas (Demo for Tom Waits)
  19. Galaxy 500 – Listen, the Snow is Falling
  20. The White Stripes – Candy Cane Children
  21. Belle & Sebastian – Santa Claus Go Straight to the Ghetto
  22. The Disco Biscuits – Linus & Lucy (The Wett Bar, 01-11-01)

If you’re interested in creating your own similar Christmas Run soundtrack for next year, you can always visit this awesome website (click HERE to view)  to find all those difficult hard-to-find alternative holiday gems.

‘Feliz Navidad, everyone!

Comments
  1. Carolyn says:

    Merry Christmas Terry! Wishing you all the best in 2012!

Leave a Reply

