Resolution Walk/Run: The Good, the Bad & the Ugly

Posted: January 3, 2012 in Motivation, Races, Training
Tags: , ,

The Good

  • Resolution Run (click to see stats)
  • 5k (49:52)
  • Avg. Heart Rate = 100 bpm
  • Max. Heart Rate = 131 bpm
  • Avg. Pace = 9:27/km
  • Best Pace = 4:54/km
  • Calories = 342
  • Temp = 4º

Last year, I was privileged to participate in this Running Room with another friend for whom it was her first running event, and it was a real pleasure, not to mention a great way to kick start off the New Year.  This year, I was fortunate enough to participate again, except this time I ran walked it with my new girlfriend who is rather, shall we say, ‘new’ to the whole running thing.  Of course, this wasn’t exactly something I ever intended to consider as significant “training” since the best pace we could manage was while quickly skirting across the street as to not get run over by traffic.  Likewise, that registered maximum 131 bpm heart rate was probably spiked while charging the buffet table at the end for a Swedish meatball…but no matter, it was just something fun to do together in order to ring in the New Year and I am very proud of her for getting out and participating in something healthy and active (not to mention her incredible good humor about being thrown under the bus in the particular post).

I am hoping, however, that this might be the start of something larger for her and, as always, I’ll be perfectly happy to (walk) run in any other events alongside her in the future as I simply love to be supportive and encouraging and just being present for someone else’s own success, no matter how minor or major – total ‘Brussel Sprout Power’.  Rumor even has it that she has already signed up for the Frosty 5k (I will be running the half marathon) in Burlington come March…so stay tuned sports fans as shit is about to get serious!

The Bad

After our 5k walk, we had arranged to ring in the New Year in the most celebratory of ways – the time honored tradition of generations of previous New Year’s party-poopers long before us – at home, quietly, with some Chinese take-out. Well, that’s after the nearly 90 minute wait in the lobby of Happy Jacks waiting for our food that is.  I don’t what it is exactly with the Chinese as they have been responsible for some pretty incredible innovations spanning mankind’s history here on earth including fireworks, gunpowder, the compass, paper, tea, kites and ink just to name a few, and yet they have absolutely no concept of ‘expediting’ when it comes to getting out Take-Out orders successfully.  Go figure.

Ringing in the New Year in style!

Whatever, it was fatty, ‘carbo-tastic’ and, oh so sinfully delicious, not to mention it came with some complimentary slices of cake: HAPPY NEW YEAR 2012!

The Ugly

  • Long Run (click to see stats)
  • 23k (2:09:41)
  • Avg. Heart Rate = 152 bpm
  • Max. Heart Rate = 161 bpm
  • Avg. Pace = 5:38/km
  • Best Pace = 3:28/km
  • Calories = 2187
  • Temp = 2º (windy)
  • SOTD: ‘First Tube’  (Phish; 07-06-00)

So after the previous evening’s festivities, it was time to get serious and spend a little time alone in the ‘Hurt Locker’, so to speak, with a frosty, windy 23k run.  Oh joy.  Yes, it was a long solitary run through the darkened streets of North St. Catharines and down along the banks of the Welland Canal and up through my old stomping grounds of Merritton.  My quads screamed, my calves ached and I think I contracted mild freezer burn on my chest thanks to the cold 78 km/h winds.

However, it wasn’t at all as ugly as it might seem – assuming of course, that you dislike running as much as I do – as I spent the majority of the time reflecting back on my 2011 year, as well as the year ahead of me still.  This past year has seen some pretty remarkable achievements for me in that I don’t feel so much like a brain damaged mule just going through the motions of racing as I do somebody who has learned and developed successfully.  I’m no expert of course and I continue to learn, but I do feel somewhat more accomplished than I have in the previous two years of competing.  I have medaled twice at the Goderich and Woodstock triathlons, fared very well in my first local Half Ironman event of the season and then survived the heat and performed better than anticipated in my first major international Half Ironman event.  To boot, I set new personal bests at the Half Marathon and 30k distances.  Not bad for a former fat guy, eh?  To top it all off I have developed a new passion with my budding yoga practice so, yeah, things are pretty good.

Furthermore and more importantly, I realized that the very reason why I do all this has changed quite significantly.  Originally, when I started on this whole triathlon crazy train of an adventure I had a very different motivation and one, that in hindsight, was pretty narrow-sighted and self-absorbed; but, recently, all that has changed.  Now, with the backing and support of two very important ladies (besides my mom) in my life, I have a pretty good reason to work hard as well as a continuous motivation to not fail them, or myself for that matter.  Yes, yes, you may all upchuck here just a little bit, but I am referring to my girlfriend and her daughter with whom I hope to share all my 2012 experiences.  It’s one thing to cross the finish line to the applause of a crowd of random on-lookers and maybe your training peers, but I expect it’s going to be something entirely different to know that there is someone particularly special willing you to that finish line and who will either help celebrate the moment, or consul me if that should be the case.  In short, this whole triathlon thing just became bigger than myself and I couldn’t be happier, or more excited for that matter.

So with that all floating through my mind while the wind whipping my body and the chill froze my cheeks, I plodded along quite happily (if not a little gingerly)…so bring it on 2012!  Let’s see what you got…bitch.

Comments
  1. Carolyn says:

    Happy 2012 Terry!
    Congrats to you girlfriend for her first race! Have her check out Jeff Galloway’s Run/Walk method or the coach to 5k programs.
    Carolyn

  2. Jan says:

    Perfect timing Terry! You’ve outdone yourself in training and results and now you have a partner and a half willing to encourage you and share your success. I couldn’t be happier for you! Jan

Leave a Reply

