Spin for Sponsors

Posted: March 6, 2012 in Lifestyle, Motivation
Tags: , ,

First off, I feel it may be necessary here to apologize a little bit to those of my regular readers (if there are in fact any).  It is often said that the month of March “comes in like a lion and out like a lamb”, except in my case the lion began to roar mid-February.  Nary has a single day passed that has also afforded me an opportunity to sit down at the keyboard and spew forth with these pearls of wisdom and, often, agony; rest assured that my training still continues but now with a very new set of challenges.

The main goal for February was to move out of my beloved bachelor pad in St. Catharines and join my girlfriend and her seven-year-old daughter (you can follow this separate blog chronicle HERE  if you’re interested) in their splendorous digs in Ridgeway.  This required my purchasing a new car pretty much last minute, packing up nearly twenty years of acquired crap and relocating it thirty minutes away down the QEW and, as it turns out, this was more exhausting than any long run or cycle and easily as difficult.  But I am excited to be here (future training stories, pictures and adventures to come I’m sure) and the cats and I are settling in nicely.  Of course, this has created certain strains on my rigorously structured training schedule but, somehow, it’s all getting accomplished; more or less.  Yet despite all this moving madness in the past few weeks I have still managed to have some very interesting and successful training opportunities.

View from the bike…

More specifically, two weekends ago I agreed to participate in a ‘Spin for Sponsors’  event in support of my up-coming 2012 ‘Ride to Conquer Cancer’ in support of the Campbell Family Institute at the Princess Margaret Hospital, one of the top 5 cancer research centers in the world.  That’s a 200k ride spread over 2 days, and including over 4000 participants, many of whom are cancer survivors themselves.  If anyone has ever seen this parade of riders go by in previous years you’ll already know what an inspiring and moving spectacle it can be…not to mention how much spandex that really is.  This is something I definitely feel very fortunate to be a part of this year as part of my whole Giving Back philosophy of training this year.  I am not a cancer survivor mind you, but I do consider myself as a cancer victim as I’ve – like many of you I suspect – lost much at the hands of this heinous disease.  Specifically, I will be riding in this event in memory of both my Nana and Bonnie, my step-mom, who both succumbed to cancer over the past two years.  Both these people played a very integral part in my life and I feel genuinely robbed that I won’t be able to share any of my future goals with them, like this whole Ironman nonsense for example.

Will spin for bucks…

The premise for the evening, apart from getting to openly wear spandex in public, was to solicit donations whilst spinning on my trainer along with a local band (Joe Lapinksi and Dave Clark) at the Merchant Ale House.  I know, right?  What a unique experience to be training in the midst of dancers, drinkers, revelers and partiers alike.  I mean, seriously, how often do you get to do hill repeats while grooving to a thrashier version of Madonna’s ‘Borderline’? And, hey, if a little booze assists some people in opening up their wallets then so be it.  After all, who wouldn’t want to help out a guy who’s collection jar proudly displays his training mantra as: “200 kilometers…2 Days…2 very sore butt cheeks”?  I know…total genius.

The obligatory cleavage shot

All in all, in nearly three and a half hours of working my ass off while observing the complex ‘Courting Rituals of the Inebriated Adolescent’  I was able to collect nearly $350.00 for a very worthy cause…not to mention dropping about a dozen pints of sweat in the process.  While preparing for an Ironman event is a monumental effort in itself, it actually pales in comparison to the task of fundraising $2500 for this important cause so I hope I can fit other such, well, ‘unique’ fundraising chances such as this into my near future.

“Borderline … feels like I’m goin’ to lose my mind…”

In summation, Dear Reader, if you feel so inclined (and have not already done so) – yes, here it comes – I would sincerely appreciate whatever small token of support you can also afford me (and my Nana and step-mom) in my commitment to supporting the Campbell Family Institute at the Princess Margaret Hospital by making a donation to my on-line pledge page conveniently located here:

http://www.conquercancer.ca/site/TR/Events/Toronto2012?px=2867580&pg=personal&fr_id=1401

C’mon…do it.  You know you want to otherwise, I’ll have my Nana come back to haunt you.  Just sayin’…

Comments
  1. Mom says:

    If Kelly is going to be on her own at Strega in April, I will come to keep her company.

  2. Kelly says:

    I’m working nights that weekend … so I won’t be able to make it 😦
    But thanks for offering to come keep me company !

Leave a Reply

