Around the Bay (Prelude)

Posted: March 24, 2012 in Run, Training
Tags: , , ,
  • Easy Run (click to see stats)
  • 4.89 (27:33)
  • Avg. Heart Rate = 144 bpm
  • Max. Heart Rate = 169 bpm
  • Avg. Pace = 5:38/km
  • Best Pace = 4:57/km
  • Calories = 462
  • Temp = 22º
  • SOTD: ‘Diddy Wa Diddy’ by Captain Beefheart

Tomorrow I’m running in the Around the Bay 30k race again for my third straight year and I’m not more looking forward to it than I have in the past two.  It’s common knowledge by now that I’m no lover of running but do it more out of necessity than I do for the passion of it.  What can I say?  Running sucks; particularly at distances that make your legs feel like they fell off somewhere behind you along the roadside, yet you kept plodding along.

This is my first ‘A-Race’ event of the season and my first test this season at long (you can read that as “really long”) distances and, as per usual, I don’t have a race strategy yet.  I seldom do until the gun goes off and I actually cross the Starting Line; I’m just more of a ‘compete by the seat of your pants’ kind of guy I guess.  But that didn’t stop me from thinking about one on my last short training jog this evening.

Given no unforeseen problems or mishaps, I know I CAN beat last years’ finishing time of 2:39:04, but do I really want to?  I mean, at this point last year this was going to be the longest run all season before looking forward to culling it back down to the 21.1k  distance, where this year it’s just start of many more long distance hauls to come; most of which will be conducted after long rides to boot.  Let’s look at the data, shall we?

Last year I maintained an average pace of 5:19/km  over 30k  which, at the time was very good for me.  Just weeks before I ran the Grimsby Half Marathon in 1:47:05  requiring me to keep an average pace of 5:02/km – then a personal best.  This year, I’ve already murdered that time in the Chilly Half Marathon with 1:39:30  which, truthfully, I didn’t know I had in me.  That’s keeping a 4:43/km  pace!  Fuck me.  During all my training runs so far this year, which I don’t push to full race potential, I am now keeping a comfortable 5:00/km  pace, or just below that.  So even if I kept that 5:00/km  pace, this gives me a potential finishing time of 2:30:00  on the button.  Hell, I can even stop and enjoy some jellybeans handed out by the crowd or stop and shoot the shit with the Karaoke midget, whatever, and still make better on last years’ time.

Of course, anything can happen and this is all just an ideal world we’re talking about here, but it is in my ability. Thing is, should my intent be on Sunday to attack the course and go after the 2:30:00  that I think I have in me, or do I concentrate on finding that comfortable pace that I can maintain, not just for 30k  but for 42.2k, which I can expect to run in Wales, and make peace with it instead?  In other words, use the day as more of a mental conditioning and physical experimentation day?

Who knows?  Only time and will tell.  I guess I’ll just have to wait until I first cross that Starting Line to see what happens.

Comments
  1. Jan says:

    I say forget the peace. You must have lots of peace times in the past. GO FORIT! You can do it!
    Jan (Leo the Lion)

  2. Aquaman says:

    I agree with Jan. You’ve got to go for it. Prove to yourself that you can do better than you think, and then just focus on finishing the marathon in Wales.

Leave a Reply

