Jerry’s Peachbud 1k

Posted: June 29, 2012 in Races
Tags: , , ,

As an “endurance athlete” (and I use that term loosely), it’s not often I voluntarily sign up for anything like a 1k  event.  Hell, I have issues lacing up my runners for anything less than 10k  but, this past Tuesday, I did just that as part of my over all recovery strategy from the weekend’s Half Iron event (race review to come).  Yup, just me, the munchkin and about 6 kajillion other kids all competing in the annual Jerry’s Peachbud 1k Kid’s Fun Run.  It certainly was an interesting perspective; more a kiddie free-for-all than it was a Fun Run really.

So, in case you’ve ever wondered what it’s like to participate in a kids Fun Run, here’s a birds eye view of the blood, the sweat and the tears…so many, many tears:

How did I  do you ask?

Well, I  absolutely killed it finishing 1st in my age group (54 out of 64 over all) with a time of 9:02:08 (click HERE for official race stats).  Booyah, bitches!  Not bad for a guy running on rubber legs…even if I did get nipped at the tape by a seven-year-old.

But, oh yes, make no mistake about it; next year the kid and I are totally working on our Fartleks and we’re going to return with a vengeance and leave these other juvenile wannabe’s in the dust.  So it has been written, so it shall be told.

Leave a Reply

