The Big Move (2012)

Posted: September 12, 2012 in Bike, Lifestyle
Tags: , ,
  • The Big Move (click to see stats) 
  • 98.14k (4:55:48)
  • Avg. Heart Rate = 98 bpm
  • Max. Heart Rate = 164 bpm
  • Avg. Speed/Pace = 19.9/kph
  • Calories = 3456

Just as I did last year, exactly one week out from my big A-Race, I volunteered myself as the sweep rider (or the “Tail End Charlie”) for the Big Move event in support of the local Walker Family Cancer Center.  I remember full well the inspiration I received last year prior to my Cancun 70.3 race and I wanted the same motivation prior to leaving for Wales tomorrow.  So, as it has been for the past two years, I was the last person to cross the starting line as well as the last to cross the finishing line…a tradition, by the way, I’m looking forward to continuing in the years to come.

And just as it was last year, the day was chalked full of the same marvelous, inspiring personalities, personal triumphs and achievements, not to mention the liberal doses of challenges that go along with events of this nature and it was a pleasure and privilege to be a part of it all.  But instead of boring you again with all the details, I thought I’d try and paint you a portrait from the day.  You can consider this post then as my personal online photo-log of days events.

Daisy arrives in style ready and rarin’ to go!

Yup, even I’m ready to go to…

Kelly even volunteered at one of the rest stations.

This years inspiration.

Just prior to the start of the 100k event. The view from the back.

Awesome barn along Pelham Rd.

The view along Silverdale (minus the smell of chicken coop). A perfect day for riding.

Another amazing structure along Silver Creek Dr.

Yeah, I love me my barns…

Cycling often provides some really serene moments.

The view from the rear…

Gorgeous barn along Elco Dr.

Gettin’ arsty.

How amazing is this?

Taken during an unscheduled pee break at the side of the road.

Tail End Charlie arriving home.

The post-event feeding.

Next stop:  Ironman Wales.  God help me!

Comments
  1. Jeff says:

    Good luck Terry!!!! Although with stats like these I’m sure you won’t need it 😉

    Time: 4:55:48
    Moving Time: 3:48:40
    Elapsed Time: 5:55:45
    Avg Speed: 12.4 mph
    Avg Speed: 16.0 mph
    Max Speed: 5,194.9 mph <<<<wtf!

    (I pulled this off the garmin site from your link above!!! knock'em dead crazytigersonic man!!)

  2. mrstakahashi says:

    Hi, I really enjoyed your photo journey. Thank you for that. I want to wish you a great adventure in Wales and remember to record some great memories to share on your return. take care, Cathy

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

