M-dot

Posted: October 6, 2012 in Lifestyle
Tags: ,

Executing my pre-race hydrating strategy and, judging by my nipples, it was a bit chilly out.

Today I closed out the entire 2012 Ironman adventure in true Ironman fashion, by getting the traditional M-dot tattoo on my leg.  Yup, I got inked, and thank GOD that’s over with!

Truth be told, I was more worried about this whole tattoo thing than I was for the actual Ironman race.  Seriously!  It’s funny how I think nothing of sustaining a steady degree of physical exertion, pain and mental anguish over a twelve hour period under the hardest of geographic and atmospheric conditions, but the thought of spending 10 minutes on a reclining tattoo bed being repetitively stuck with an electrically powered tattoo machine is, well, pretty scary.  But, you see, I also happen to suffer from a little known, yet serious and dreadful medical condition known as “pussyitis” which happens to make dealing with this type of self-induced cosmetic trauma extremely difficult.  At least that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

So why bother then, right?  Believe me I’ve had this exact argument with myself about a zillion times in the past twelve months since I began planning this whole Wales adventure.  As it is, I’m not really much of a trendy person, nor have I any real interest in tattoos.  They’re just not my thing.  However, as the months lagged on, and the workouts became longer and more arduous, it became a little more important to somehow mark the occasion should I be successful; hence the M-dot.  After all, I worked extremely hard and followed a rigid four year plan to make this all happen.  Certainly others have celebrated less in this fashion.  It’s not like I’m having the golden arches inked into my stomach simply because I like quarter pounders with cheese am I?  No, I’ve worked HARD dammit!  I’ve come an extremely long way, further than most will ever realize, so why wouldn’t I then feel the urge to celebrate the occasion?

Feel the burn!

Oh, and to answer the inevitable burning question on everyone’s mind:  yes, it hurt like a son of a bitch.  I might have even cried a little if I hadn’t also been surrounded by big, burly, biker-looking dudes.  And, yes, Kelly will ultimately get a few days of having fun at my expense as she did manage to squeeze a living organism out of her ‘hoo hoo ditty’  once, but in my defense, my calf is complete muscle without so much as a smidgeon of jiggly nerve-less fat which made the needle piercing rather difficult.  Yeah, that’s right.

But on another note, I also celebrated my Ironman success today by finishing absolute dead last in my age category at the local Crystal Beach 5k run in a time of 57:24.  And I did it without spilling a single drop from my Tim Horton’s coffee cup.  How awesome is that?  You can see my results by clicking HERE  and then scrolling aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaall the way to the bottom.

It’s true; I’m nowhere near ready to get back on the exercise wagon yet I am still actively in the post-Ironman “Get Fat and Be Lazy” phase of training.  Today was simply about being outside, keeping Kelly company, and enjoying the day by participating – albeit very slowly – in something fun and local.  The autumn colors are in full bloom here in Ridgeway so it was just nice to be outside and being lapped by women pushing strollers.  I could care less really.  The biggest pre-race decision I made this morning was whether or not to wear jeans.  I opted for sweatpants and it was exhausting.

It’s official…

So I have another few weeks left yet of being idle and driving Kelly crazy before I start getting back into something resembling that of an active lifestyle.  I do plan on getting back to the gym sooner than later and beginning a focused strength building program, but only if it means I can read the paper whilst doing it.  Short runs and slow, easy cycles will also follow shortly thereafter.  Come November I’ll even think about getting back in the pool.  But for the time being, I’m just going to continue indulging in platefuls of comfort food, watching hours of crappy television, and enjoying my bad ass tattoo.

Chapter closed.

Comments
  1. Jen says:

    AWESOME…that is all. 🙂

  2. Al says:

    Looks good Terry! I was the same way about getting my first one – not a tattoo fan really, but the time felt right, and it fits with the person/athlete you have become. And yes, the first one hurts like hell!! In time though, your thoughts will likely meander toward “it wasn’t THAT bad”, and “it would be neat to have one over here …”

  3. persona. It’s about reality. Who you really are.

Leave a Reply

