Playlist Bingo (Part 2)

Posted: October 20, 2012 in Gym, Playlists
Tags:

Well, it’s official: the indoor off-season training has begun…albeit not exactly in earnest yet.  It’s been four – sometimes glorious, sometimes funkyweeks of inactivity so I figure it’s time to get my ever-expanding ass back into the grind.  Yes, it’s back to the gym; Hello, meatheads!’  And you know what that also means; lots of getting lost inside my own head while plugged into my iPod.  It’s either that or having to listen to people making noises similar to those of hissing cats, growling bears, angry squirrels, what have you. Shit, I’m even pretty sure I heard a guy fart through his nose while struggling through his reps the other day.  It’s like trying to work out in some alien petting zoo.  So given the choice to listen to my iPod or listening to some dude who sounds like a constipated sea lion, I’ll take the tunes any day. Besides, I haven’t lifted anything heavier than a stack of pancakes for the past few months now, so anything that takes my mind off the fact that my muscles are ripping apart is a total bonus.

So similar to my ‘Random’ Playlist Bingo I listed here for my easy run a while ago, I decided to do the same again yesterday for another hour or so just to see what other gems (or complete embarrassments) happen to be lurking on my iPod that I’ve also managed to forget about.

1.  Lua – Bright Eyes

One of my favorite Bright Eyes tracks.  Yes, it’s about unreciprocated love from a prostitute, but who cares?  It’s pretty and I like it.

2.  Brokeback Mountain Theme – Gustavo Santaolalla

I guess I am secure enough in my sexuality to have the haunting love anthem for a movie about gay cowboys on my iPod.  Of course, this doesn’t necessarily mean I also want to advertise it around the gym either lest some lovesick Meathead should misinterpret my love of acoustic ballads as a thinly-veiled ploy for hot man ass.

3.  Gimme Some Water – Eddie Money

Wow.  I have Eddie Money on my iPod. Who knew?

4.  Charlie Brown – Coldplay

This is a relatively new song I discovered, largely thanks to the amazing Ironman Wales video (click HERE for video) they released that features this particular tune.  There is nothing particularly motivation or encouraging in the lyrics, but there is something about the melody that simply makes me want to tear down walls and chew up and spit shit back out.  This song will always bring back amazing memories as well as serve to get me fired up to even newer heights.

5.  Grasshopper – Ride

Clocking in at nearly 11 minutes, this is full on balls-to-the-wall rocker that literally screams “give ‘er!”

6.  Ave Maria – Schubert

Again, wow.  Opera!  Not what I was expecting to be sure but, you know, there is something serene about listening to Schubert while pumping iron (or in my case, ‘pushing tin’).  Everything almost appears to be going in slow motion.  Of course, it also brings to mind cannibalism thanks to the movie ‘Alive’, but I’ll just try and block that out in favor of experiencing a little culture between reps.

7.  Grounded – Pavement

I love this tune like Steven Segal loves kicking ass.

8.  Elephant – Tame Impala

Something I discovered on YouTube.  A pretty catchy tune actually that lends itself well to working out at the gym.

9.  The Beltless Buckler – Mike Gordon

No comment.

10.  The Living Daylights – A-ha

In my opinion, you’re not a real man unless you have at LEAST one James Bond theme on your iPod.  This just happens to be mind.

11.  You Keep It All In – The Beautiful South

12.  38D – The Beautiful South

Two tracks back to back from my high school days.  One has a catchy chorus and one is about having big tits. Maybe not your ideal weight-lifting tunes but, hey, what can you do?

13.  Get Miles – Gomez

A catchy, foot-stomping, driving song that seems to mirror the ebb and flow of the gym’s atmosphere perfectly.  How can you not love a rock song that features a tuba in it?

14.  Stagger Lee – Nick Cave

A particularly morbid cover version of the popular folklore figure of Stagger Lee or, Stag O’Lee, or Stackalee, or however else you may prefer to refer to the dude, first published by John Lomax in 1910 based on the murder of William “Billy” Lyons by Stagger Lee Shelton.  Of course, Mr. Cave takes the liberty of adding a few more four letter superlatives and gory detail to make it more, well, enriching.

15.  Inner City Blues – Marvin Gaye

Knowing me, it wouldn’t completely be one of my playlists without the statutory Motown track.

16.  Goin’ Out West – Tom Waits

17.  Lazy – Love & Rockets

18.  Harold & Joe – The Cure

Another three random throw backs to my high school days that emphasize the “Goth Days” of black jeans, Doc Martens and dyed hair.  I still love Tom Waits as well as Love & Rockets but, thankfully, I take much more Vitamin C nowadays.  It’s not often I listen to the Cure anymore, however, but this was a welcome surprise.

Leave a Reply

