The Gingerbread Workout

Posted: December 24, 2012 in In Transition
Tags: ,

It’s Christmas time again and, as per the holiday tradition, the ‘ol diet plan is going directly to the curb via the nearest open window.  Likewise, my workouts may suffer a little over the next few days as well, particularly since I decided to exacerbate my running hiatus even further the other day by jumping directly on a rusty nail.  Hey, nothing says “you deserve a break today!” like  advanced lockjaw thanks to a severe case of Tetanus.  ‘Ho!  Ho! Ho!’

However, before all that sets in I also decided to initiate a very special interval workout – you know, just for the holidays – as has likewise become my custom.   First there was the 12 Days of Pool Christmas, and then there was the Skittle Workout, and let’s not forget any of my long, wintery Christmas morning runs just about every year.  This year, however, I decided to go in an entirely different direction with something I will now affectionately refer to as the ‘Gingerbread Workout’.

The premise is very similar to any other tempo or interval workout that a runner may do on a track, or cyclists during spin class except, you know, with a delicious gingerbread tree.  The plan goes thusly:

  • Eat fast
  • Pace myself
  • Eat some more

Simple, right?  Well, here’s how it all played out:

"Get ready, get set..."

“Get ready, get set…”

0:01s – Looking and feeling pretty confident, as in “I’m going to destroy this bitch”.  Since my eating prowess has often been compared to that of a successful competitive eater, I assumed that this challenge was going to be fairly pretty easy with no imminent challenges.  But little did I know what lay ahead…

"...GO!"

“…GO!”

0:08s – Oh shit.  Having some initial difficulty finding my speed legs here.  As it turns out,  a significantly iced gingerbread tree is not so easy to crack into.

"I saw this little maneuver on a Nature documentary about otters..."

“I saw this little maneuver on a Nature documentary about otters…”

0:23s – Success!  Just as with most workouts, it’s all about having right tools to get the job done.

"time to rip this mother up!"

“time to rip this mother up!”

0:25s – Okay, time to make up some ground.

"I learned this tactic after watching the freak-like Takeru Kobayashi eat his way to victory in the infamous Nathan's 'World Hot Dog Eating Chamiponships' back in 2008..."

“I developed this strategy after watching the freak-like Takeru Kobayashi eat his way to victory in the infamous Nathan’s ‘World Hot Dog Eating Chamiponships’ back in 2008…”

3m:35s – I’m beginning to finding my stride now as my heartbeat reaches begins to stabilize at around 75% of my maximum effort.

"The endurance athlete's equivalent of Frazier taking an Ali hay-maker late in the 13th round..."

“The endurance athlete’s equivalent of Frazier taking an Ali hay-maker late in the 13th round…”

4m:47s – Uh oh.  Beginning to experience the first signs of fatigue…

"...and Frazier responses right back with a sudden flurry of jabs!"

“…and Frazier responses right back with a sudden flurry of jabs!”

5m:56s – Thankfully, I get my second wind not long afterwards.  This is truly where the ‘mental toughness’ part of my conditioning begins to kick in.

"Kicking it up another gear..."

“Kicking it up another gear…”

7m:45s – …just…keep…going…

"Ali, bomaye!  Ali, bomaye!"

“Ali, bomaye! Ali, bomaye!”

9m:24s – …c’mon, finish strong!  “YOU CAN DO THIS!”

"To the victor go the crumbs!"

“To the victor go the crumbs!”

9m:43s – …Sweet, sweet, victory!

"A NEW PB!"

“A NEW PB!”

9m:50s – Yeah, baby.

And another holiday workout in the bag.

And another holiday workout in the bag.

9m:53s – Aaaaaaand, Recover.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!!

Leave a Reply

