Out With the Old, In With the New…

Posted: January 1, 2013 in Lifestyle, Motivation
Tags: , ,

It’s a new year.  2012 was amazing; and I do mean amazing.  But it also exacted a tough toll on my mind and body, one that has been rather challenging to bounce back from.  So, in wrapping up the 2012 year, I took on a new challenge before a week of holiday idleness prior launching myself headlong into the 2013 season.

The premise:

“Row and/or ski 100,000m or 200,000m, from November 22to11:59 p.m. ET December 24.”

Sounds easy enough, right?  In lieu of my still not running, I’ve taken up rowing as a substitute for my typical weekly running workouts; goal being to complete a half marathon by Christmas Day (21,097m).  It seemed like an easy enough “off season” goal to focus on.  Hey, why not?  Besides enduring endless hours staring out at the neighborhood skate park watching the multiple bong hits and occasional compound fractures, it became something of my ‘alone time’; just me, my thoughts, and my tunes all see-sawing back and forth in the corner.

Then I was informed of the ‘Holiday Challenge’ (click HERE for my log page) sponsored by Concept2 by another fellow Ironman.

“For every person who completes at least 100k during the challenge, Concept2 will donate $.02 for each kilometer (1000 meters) you accumulate. Once you get beyond 100k, we’ll donate $.04 per kilometer. For kids and adaptive athletes, the $.04 rate takes effect at 50k. Every bit adds up: Last year, your efforts raised over $31,000 for disaster relief organizations!”

Hey, excellent!  I may as well do some good while I’m at it – it’s Christmas after all.  So now I had a purpose as well.  Beautiful!  This sore ass wasn’t going to be in vain.  (hehehe…)

So, all in all, I fund-raised…

…wait for it…

$2.76 for ‘Doctors without Borders’!, only after, of course, having rowed a total of 119,115m over the past thirty days.  So, let it be known right now that my ass is VERY sore and I’m not ashamed to admit it.

I would have been happier to donate to other such worthy causes like, say for example, any organization trying to raise money to equip public schools with nuclear weapons, but it wasn’t a recognized charity on the Concept2 website.  What can you do?

Now, I realize that I actually failed on the Challenge, I’ll come clean.  The rules clearly state that the 100,000m had to be completed by Christmas Eve (Dec. 24th) and I actually did it on Christmas Day (Dec. 25th).  But as long as Concept2 doesn’t mind me busting out my flux capacitor and entering my result a day early, then we’re all cool.  The doctors, however, definitely thank you.

The proof:

First Half Marathon on the egometer

First Half Marathon on the egometer

The payoff:

A certificate.  Yay.

A certificate. Yay.

So it’s onward and forward in 2013.  And, of course, you know what that means:  RUNNING.  Crap.

At this point in the game, four months down the road from Ironman, it actually feels like I’m starting all over again and I have all the same anxiety issues that I had when I first started this triathlon business four years ago.  Can I do this?  Am I just going to get re-injured again?  God you’re a fat bastard.  Where 2012 has been a paramount year in my life (maybe the greatest year ever), I still feel like Rocky prior to his first battle with Clubber Lang.  Yes, before all my run workouts, this is what plays out in my head:

 

But I have to remind myself – constantly – that 2013 isn’t necessarily about achieving another monumental goal but, rather, focusing on my recovery and enjoying the more social aspects of maintaining a healthy lifestyle.  Even during this mornings easy (yet painful) run, I revisited my intentions for 2013 and even altered them a bit from my last New Goals post.  This year, I’m going to keep my distances short and focus on losing this fat ass I’ve acquired since Ironman Wales.  I’m going to get reacquainted with my all-but-lost yoga practice.  I’m going to participate in more worthwhile charity events likes the Tour du Lac with Kelly and support her in accomplishing her goals.  I’d also like to ride in either the new Centurion or GranFondo Niagara cycling events that are coming to our area for the first time this year.  And maybe, just maybe, I might even get to take part in a relay to swim across Lake Ontario.  How cool would that be?  So there’s still lots of exciting things on the horizon.

I’m also interested to volunteer again with the Big Move, the SunRype Kids Triathlon Series, and maybe even working/coaching more with kids.  In essence, I want to take a significant step away from long distance endurance training temporarily and spend the time instead on having more ‘fun’ with my new family (something that largely escaped me this past year) and reestablishing a strong base (not to mention a level of confidence) with which to launch myself into 2014 and then onward towards Kona.

So it begins…

Comments
  1. Jan says:

    I’m happy to see that your 2013 direction is focusing on recovery and family while you’ve chosen some different ways of keeping fit. One injury if not allowed to heal properly can be the end of a Triathlon goal. So GOOD FOR YOU!.
    It did sound to me though from you past posts that you’ve been one awesome partner for your new family. I’m thrilled that you’ve met someone like Kelly who is so supportive of your goals and interested in running as well. Loved the post of “Little Kelly” running with your videoing from behind. She’s a lucky little kid to have you in her life.
    Makes me very happy that my son Chris’ Trek Tri bike is still a part of your training routine. You’ve replaced many of the parts but it means a lot to Chris and I that you use it for your bike training.
    In short Terry, I love following your posts, seeing you plan and accomplish your goals, enjoy your family and yet still have time to allow us to enjoy your successes at writing. A great 2013 to you and yours!
    Sincerely,
    Jan

Leave a Reply

