Who the Hell is MYRTL?

Posted: January 25, 2013 in Gym, Run
Tags:

When someone first suggested that as a runner, I should acquaint myself with Myrtle, I thought they meant having tea and crumpets with someone at the local nursing home.  But what they really meant was the acronym MYRTL (click HERE  for the pdf.), or, the reference to a series of exercises designed to improve your overall “hip girdle”.

Get it?  MYRTL?  It rhymes.  Anyway…

This sequence of stretches and movements focuses on your both your strength and flexibility in this specific area.  It’s a well-known fact that cyclists and runners (as we are) grow very accustomed to a singularly forward motion.  But sideways, well, not so much.  So I’ve been throwing this routine into my weekly strength conditioning regiment in an effort to improve my range of motion, prohibit future injury, as well as spice up my boring, run-of-the-mill core workouts.

Here’s a video by Coach Jay explaining and illustrating the routine:

Comments
  1. Jan says:

    This from a NonTrier…..I loved the Donkey Whips but the Fire Hydrant left me in stiches laughing. But some very helpful exercises for my boyd type as ancient as I am. Thanks Terry!
    Jan

Leave a Reply

