4/20 Playlist

Posted: April 20, 2013 in Playlists
Tags:

Today is April 20th.  So what you ask?  What’s the big deal?  Well, it just so happens that 4/20 (April 20th – get it?) is the infamous all-haloed holiday for smokers, jokers, and midnight tokers everywhere.  Of course my marijuana days are long behind me but that doesn’t mean I also don’t appreciate celebrating the holidays, particularly if it comes with a whole host of awesome tunes.  After all, I may also not be Jewish but I do love me some Latke’s and Matzo Ball soup, dig?  Same difference.  So while others might have chosen to celebrate the 4/20 holiday today on the couch doing bong hits to reruns of the Teletubbies, I decided to celebrate with a different type of high.  Man, just think of how far I’ve come in three short years when my then aspiration was simply to be the first Stoner Ironman.

Now, THAT’S my kind of workout!

*sigh*

What an idiot.  But I digress…

So, anyway, my usual Saturday morning swim with the coach today was uneventful enough as there’s not really anything particularly pot-themed that you can do in the pool (not that she would have been as enthusiastic as I was to “celebrate”), although we did do 4 sets of 200m  at one point, but that hardly qualifies as a real celebration.  Afterwards, though, I chose to hit up the gym with one of my prearranged 4/20-themed iPod playlists to hit the weights doing 4 sets of 20 reps each and, VOILA! , we have our special 90 minute ‘4/20 Playlist’.  Now, I realize that this is, like, totally contradictory to the typical triathlete’s lifestyle but, hey, don’t judge me.  It’s just all in good fun.

Casey Jones – Grateful Dead

Comin’ Into Los Angeles – Arlo Guthrie

Rainy Day Women #12 & 35 – Bob Dylan

Burn One Down – Ben Harper

Panama Red – New Riders of the Purple Sage

Two Hits and the Joint Turned Brown (live) – Yonder Mountain String Band

Indica & Sativa> Rocky Mountain Way> Indica & Sativa (live) – Ekoostik Hookah

Muggles – Louis Armstrong

Reefer Man – Cab Calloway

Champagne and Reefer – Muddy Waters

The Pusher – Steppenwolf

Last Dance with Mary Jane – Tom Petty

I Love You Mary Jane – Sonic Youth and Cypress Hill

Light Up or Leave Me Alone (live) – Traffic

Recreational Chemistry (live) – moe.

Eight Miles High (live) – The Byrds

If anyone has any recommended additions that I can add to next year’s playlist, please consider outing yourself and leave them in the comments.  I won’t judge you – I promise.

Comments
  1. Adam Abelson says:

    as one of those providing “musical entertainment” at 4/20 for a huge birthday party on that day, and also weed-free, though with fond memories enrobed in a blue haze of sarstock and other such weed fueled events, i chose to play/sing van morrison’s “and it stoned me” into little feat’s “willin” at the appropriate time. i’ll add that an oft played ending to willin, which i did not sing, is “don’t bogart that joint.”

Leave a Reply

