Yoga Music Pick #7

Posted: September 10, 2013 in Yoga
Tags: ,

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted a Yoga Music Pick.  That’s partly because I haven’t been practicing all that often or, that when I do, I attend a class that follows the standard wind chimes and whale songs philosophy of ambiance.  But lately I’ve been trying to reconnect with my practice a bit on my own terms.  You might as well read that that as ‘whenever I can fit it in’.  Hey, some yoga is better than no yoga, am I right?  And since reconnecting with my home practice is part of my recent ‘We Can Rebuild Him’ plan to regaining my overall injury free fitness, I’m definitely trying to find the time more often, hence, more yoga.

This afternoon I took such an opportunity to get into some bendy-twisty on my mat at home in between business meetings (and after a 5k Fartlek run workout – yeah, it’s a rough day).  My musical selection you ask?  Why, the ‘Together We’re Heavy’  album by the Dallas symphonic rock band The Polyphonic Spree.  Some of you might remember them as ‘those weirdoes in the colored robes’.  Yes, those guys and, no, they’re not a new age cult.  Although, if they were, that might also appeal to some yoga types to be sure – but they’re not.  Honestly.

Largely the brainchild of former Tripping Daisies front man Tim DeLaughter, the group grew from the ashes after the Daisy’s guitarist Wes Berggren died of a drug overdose in 1999.  Shortly afterwards, DeLaughter collaborated with twelve other musicians, trying to put a sound together that reflected the music he grew up with; something his children would be proud of; something celebratory.  He wanted to explore the orchestral palette and pop sensibility of The Association, the 5th Dimension, Wings, and The Beach Boys; and the vocal style of Ozzy Osbourne from Black Sabbath.  Relax fellow yogi’s, I’m not trying to push heavy metal on your practice; quite the contrary actually.  Think of it this way:  how can you not love a band that makes use of flutes, violins, whistles, tubular bells, organs, piccolos, French horns, glockenspiels, flugelhorns, a theremin, and a full backing choir?  C’mon, that’s some inspired shit to get your yoga on right there!

If these guys don’t look like a “yoga” band, I don’t know what does.

This album comes with a warning however.  Typically, while practicing yoga and listening to music we tend to be attracted to music that helps us focus and ‘become one with everything’  (whatever that means).  ‘Together We’re Heavy’, if you’re not careful, might ‘become one’  a little too much.  It’s just that infectious in its ‘Carpe Diem-ness’.  You may just feel the urge to abandon your practice and ditch the mat altogether to go out to do something truly inspired.  But that’s what yoga is to me…getting inspired and daring yourself to be great.   So this feel good mood totally works for me.

Leave a Reply

