Succulent Socca!

Posted: September 23, 2013 in Nutrition, Recipes
Tags: , ,

They say that ‘breakfast is the most important meal of the day’  and to that I say:  FUCKIN’-A!

Some people will bitch and moan about not getting their morning coffee and, while I enjoy me my morning cuppa Joe as well, it’s totally meaningless until it’s also accompanied by something warm, hearty and delicious to start the day.  Usually, I fall back on my tried and true two egg omelet with onion, mushroom and cheese (or whatever else happens to need being used up in the refrigerator) which requires a mere 17 minutes to prepare.  Yes, I have it that well timed.  I could make that shit blindfolded.  Other times I like to go out, specifically on the weekends or after a long morning workout for your typical eggs, bacon, toast and pancake special at the local breakfast diner here in town but, now that we’ve switched to gluten free, that option is off the table…literally.  And while I can still prepare my morning omelet with little difficultly, lately I’ve been craving a little more variety.

Enter an amazing and simple recipe I found for Socca (also known as farinata and cecina), a savory flatbread make from chickpea four.  Socca is a traditional golden brown, ‘chewy’ dish from Nice, France (Oh yeah, lookee me being all French n’ shit) but is more commonly associated with Middle Eastern cuisine…go figure.   Joel Rubuchon, eat your heart out!  Anyway, Socca is made of only two main ingredients making it extremely easy to prepare: chick pea flour and water.  Nutritionally, it’s high in protein, has a low glycemic index, gluten free and, most importantly, freakin’ awesome.  You can probably find it pre-packaged at supermarkets easily enough (check the health food or ethnic section), bulk food stores or Indian grocers but with chick pea four being relatively inexpensive at the bulk food store, hey, why not make your own and enjoy the fruits of your own labor?  Doesn’t everything you make with love taste a little bit better anyway?

Socca is extremely versatile in that you can use it as an alternative to wheat or corn tortillas; as an hors d’oeuvre or snack with hummus; as a substitute for traditional crepes or pancakes; as a thin crust pizza base; or as a side for curries or soups.  Me?  I like to use it as a wrap for a hearty breakfast burrito.

Socca Ingredients:

  • chickpea flour
  • water
  • oil (preferably with a high smoke point)
  • optional spices:
    • paprika (gives a reddish tint)
    • cumin
    • garam masala / curry powder
    • garlic, finely minced
    • coriander / cilantro, finely minced
    • cinnamon (great for dessert crêpes)

Instructions:

  1.  Evenly coat a frying pan (I prefer a cast iron skillet) with oil using a brush or paper towel. You’ll need a pan than can go in the oven/broiler (i.e. non-melting handle).
  2. Set the oven to broil and fully heat the frying pan/skillet.
  3. Measure out the flour and water in a 1:1 ratio and whisk together with your chosen spices to taste.
  4. Spoon some batter into the preheated pan/skillet and tilt to evenly coat the entire surface.  Aim for a thickness of a few millimeters, but feel free to experiment (e.g. thicker for pizza dough, or thinner for crepes).
  5. Broil with the oven door open – you know, to keep an eye on things.  Remove carefully with a spatula just as the edges begin to blacken.
Broiling socca

Broiling socca

Yummy, toasty goodness in a pan

Yummy, toasty goodness in a pan

From here, you can pretty much add whatever you like.  Me, I like to fry up a few mushrooms, onions, diced sweet potato and bell peppers but, really, you can put anything you like in there.

Oh yeah...

Oh yeah…

As a bonus, add whatever leftover proteins that might still be still lying around inside your fridge from last night’s dinner (which is often at my place).  In this case, I had some surplus chicken breast and ham.

Dahrool, dah-rool!

Dahrool, dah-rool!

Then I scramble up one egg and add some light cheese and salsa (lately, I’ve been digging a delicious Corn & Chili salsa from Trader Joe’s), maybe a little salad if you like and, voila!  Heaven on a plate!

Heaven on a plate!

Heaven on a plate!

Just one of these babies and an hour later, I have all the energy I need for a lengthy run or swim, or whatever.  Likewise, I can also use it as that perfect post-workout meal that I can easily make within that 30 minute optimal refueling window.  That’s a double ‘win’ right there.

Comments
  1. Jan says:

    I’m LIKIN” this BIGTIME!
    Not only will I ry this with the extras I love but it will be EXCELLENT for my daughter who struggles with wheat but hasn’t found anything else she likes as a subsitute! This have many options for other uses as well and she’ll love that.
    I love reading your works but have especially enjoyed your cooking talents and pics. This one is a REAL WINNER!!!!!!
    Thanks Terry!!!!
    Jan

  2. Jeff says:

    Looks tasty! is this something you could do daily or is it more of a weekend thing?

    • No way man. I can (and have) been eating this every day…it takes, like, 10 minutes in the oven to bake and you can flavor it different every time to your liking. Now that the cooler weather is here I’m really enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

