The ‘Twelve Days of Pool Christmas’ Resurrected

Posted: December 29, 2013 in Swim, Training
Tags: ,
  • Long Swim (click to see stats)
  • 5850m (1:55:18)
  • Avg. Heart Rate = 148 bpm
  • Max. Heart Rate = 123 bpm
  • Calories = 1420

Over the past few years of training for and competing in triathlon, I have established a few holiday workout traditions, besides eating my own bodyweight in treats that is.  For example, on Christmas morning I like to go for a long run (or row, depending on the year) and enjoy the solitude as families are waking up to discover what Santa has left under the tree for them.  Later, I usually go to the gym for a light stretch or workout with the weights a little.  And while this year’s run was as awesome as ever (I failed to make it to the gym however), I also wanted to resurrect another holiday tradition that has fallen by the wayside in recent year, namely, the ‘Twelve Days of Pool Christmas’.

Yes, I know it’s already four days past Christmas but, hey, better late than never, right?  Besides, this year’s ‘Twelve Days’ workout exceeds the last time I did this routine by nearly 2275m, so that has to count for something.  Likewise, it takes a bit of a different route than the previous years.  Instead of unique drills or measures for each day, this year each ‘day’ is divided into 75m sets (w/ 5-8 second rest) adding on one more set each day, before descending back down to day one again; the exception being day 12 being a flat out continuous swim, totaling a distance of 5850m in all.  Yeah, that’ll burn me some calories for sure!

So without further ado, I give you the newly reformed ’Twelve Days of Pool Christmas’:

“On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…”
1 x 75m (freestyle)

“On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me….”
1 x 75m (freestyle/catch-up drill/freestyle)

“On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me….”
1 x 75m (hypoxic; breathe every 3/5/3)

“On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…”
1 x 75m (backstroke/freestyle/backstroke)

“On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…”
1 x 75m (choice)

“On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…”
1 x 75 (one-arm drill/freestyle/one-arm drill)

“On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…”
1 x 75 (hypoxic; breathe every 5/7/5)

“On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…”
1 x 75m (breaststroke/freestyle/breaststroke)

“On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…”
1 x 75m (freestyle)

“On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…”
1 x 75m (breaststroke/backstroke/breaststroke)

“On the eleventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…”
1 x 75m (
choice)

“On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…”
900m (pull)

Days 1 through 7 were typically business as usual with no real worry or concern but, by Day 8, I was beginning to get that “Oh Christ, what have I gotten myself into?”  going through my head.  By Day 10 and 11, I was more or less just willing myself through the water and I’m sure my stroke was anything but efficient.  Day 12 was simply an exercise in pure stubbornness and persistence.  All in all, aside form the ‘Frank & Friends 10k Swim‘ last year, this was the longest I’ve swam so for that accomplishment, I am proud.  Likewise, it is my intention to do that same swim again in April, so this workout serves as a mere taste of the long workouts that are going to come in the very near New Year.

Now, time for some more of that leftover turkey and stuffing…

Leave a Reply

