My Motivation: Get Up, Get Into It, Get Involved

Posted: January 13, 2014 in In Transition
Tags: ,

Everybody, triathletes included, has something – a goal – to motivate them through their off-season training.  Maybe it’s to lose a few extra pounds, get stronger, faster, or complete their first Sprint or Olympic distance triathlon.  Maybe it’s more specific in that they want to improve their swim times or bike split, or podium in their next half or full Ironman event.  Maybe they want to set a new PB at the 5k or 10k distance, whatever, there’s something that drives them to get out the door and get cracking.  Hey, Nike fuels an entire billion dollar ad campaign on this incessant drive towards accomplishing a goal with endless motivational videos to hammer home this point and light those fuses.

Me?

While I’m inspired in part by all of these things above, my recent motivation has been, well, a little different.  Personally, I switched to a gluten free diet, I swim, run, bike, and have even subjected myself to a torturous lab study (post still pending) just so I can – finally – fit into this:

Oooo, yeah.

Ooooh, yeah.

Yeahs, that’s right.  Drink it in.

This was my last secret goal for the 2013 season.  I mean, seriously, look at this vintage beauty!

So cool, it hurts.

So cool, it hurts.

In fact, much like our recorded history, I am breaking the past year into two very distinct periods:  ‘Before James Brown’ (BJB) and ‘After James Brown’ (AJB).  Happily, I am beginning to transition into my new and improved AJB period.  Am I sexy or what?

Hey, what’s not to love about James Brown?  Much less the classic 1970’s James Brown.  Forget for a moment the wife beating, the drugs, the shooting of guns or the mug shots…James Brown says “Stay in School!”   That shit’s gold!

This fashionable classic came to me via a friend for whom, I am currently helping to find his own healthy lifestyle, but little did he know that this gesture would in fact end up inspiring me.  Yes, Dave, fitting into this shirt has been my top priority; number #1 with a bullet!  It’s my number one reason to ‘get up offa that thing’  and get to the daily business of kickin’ ass.

I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t listened to my fair share from the Godfather of Soul’ over the past few months to motivate me towards accomplishing this goal as well.  Yes, it’s true.  I have often found myself serenading this shirt in my head during the odd run, spin or weights session:

I feel good
I knew that I would now
I feel good
I knew that I would now
So good, so good, I got you!

Ohhh

I feel nice
Like sugar and spice
I feel nice
Like sugar and spice
So nice, so nice, ’cause I got you!

What can I say?  I’m a special kind of weird.

But, hey, I’ve got soul and I’m lookin’ supa bad in this mama-jama.  Shit, I’m proudly going to wear this in the transition zone at my first 2014 triathlon.

Nuff said.

Comments
  1. Kelly says:

    Oh, if people only knew the amusement that was the night we crafted BJB and AJB.
    And yes, you are a special kind of weird ❤

Leave a Reply

