Injuries, Greatness and Learning to Fly (in Spite of Them)

Posted: September 21, 2015 in Motivation
Tags:

(Author’s Note: I might suggest playing this video in the background as you read because it’s what’s currently going through my head right now as I write this.  It might be a bit dramatic, sure, but it does accurately reflect the mood I’m trying to aspire to here.)

Well, it wasn’t the start I was initially hoping for.  A little more than one week after I took my “first steps” (click HERE) back towards this next Ironman challenge and my workout consists of walking to the corner store to check a lottery ticket and buy a bag of Ruffles; ‘Loaded Potato Skin’ flavor.

The ticket was a loser and the chips were…meh.

I’m trying to tell myself that this is “normal” and just a part of the routine as it seems I always start my off-season training with an unanticipated injury.  This time last year I was dealing with Morton’s Neuroma, a sore Achilles tendon, and emotional trauma (click HERE) following my parents deaths, the year before that a strained muscle in my left shin (click HERE), and this year it’s an acute case of ‘Dorsal Scapular Nerve Syndrome’ (click HERE).

FML.

I’m trying to tell myself that there’s no better way to start a new beginning than with the tail end of an epic finish so that it can only get better from here.

I hope.

But part of me is still all like WHY ME?’ 

Needless to say that I’ve had lots of time to ponder my pathetic situation this past week while lying around on my back trying to be as motionless as possible. I have watched one friend tackle an epic 100 kilometer trail race (click HERE), two friends complete an Ironman (click HERE), and two other friends are now completing their final workouts before competing in the Kona World Ironman Championships in three short weeks.  One friend posted about his awesome 30k training run recently for the Boston Marathon while another friend frequently updates her progress over Facebook regarding her steady and successful weight loss over the past month.  Other friends still ran the Terry Fox 5k charity run or some other type of endurance feat on their own, to support a great cause in St. Catharines this weekend. Greatness is everywhere.

Me?

I walked to the store for chips (click HERE).

I’m trying however not to let this get me down, which is definitely harder than it appears. In the company of so much greatness it’s definitely hard not to be frustrated at being temporarily laid up.  Even though I plan to get back in the pool this week and start running and cycling easy again, my confidence has certainly taken a blow for the worse.  I haven’t been able to keep up with the circuit training I started two weeks ago and I am horrified to discover that I’ve ballooned out to 225lbs since mid-August.

Not. Good.

Regardless, I’m trying to remain positive and console myself that this will just inevitably add to the total epicness of the challenge that I’ve laid out for myself this year, so if I did have  to get injured, than this is the perfect time to do so rather than sacrifice weeks or months of hard work and fall behind.  As it is now, I can’t fall behind in what I haven’t started.

So I tell myself anyway.

Hopefully this is all just temporary and in no time, I’ll be right as rain again and able to get back to the task of reestablishing my healthy base of fitness and monitoring my diet more closely; the pieces will fall together and I’ll be on my way with all guns a-blazin’, chasing down chickens and leaping over park benches with throngs of kids chasing behind me…the whole bit.

In the meantime I’m trying to remain patient, keep doing my exercises, and aspiring to the greatness going on around me.  Good things have got to come…

…eventually.

Leave a Reply

